A Fond Farewell . . . And a New Adventure

If you subscribe to my blog, chances are you were a little confused by the post that got published last Friday.  I’m writing my blog today in order to apologize for the confusion and explain what happened . . .

I messed up.  Plain and simple.  I had begun the blog early in July, but things kept popping up in my day that made me completely forget about it until Friday morning, when I realized that it was the last Friday of July, and dammit . . . the blog posted, unfinished!  I was mad and disappointed in myself at first, but it brought forth something that’s been sitting on a back burner in my mind for a while now . . . it’s time for me to stop blogging.

A few months back I had the thought that I was nearing my 10-year anniversary of starting this blog, and had toyed with the idea of stopping at the anniversary, but this big mistake made me realize the time had come now.  Nine years ago, I started the blog to focus on my writing, which then morphed into me writing my thoughts and feelings down here, like a very public journal or diary.  I wrote every week at first, and was super diligent about having posts written in advance, so that I’d be able to go on a long vacation and not worry about writing something while I was away.  At one point, I actually had 6 posts written and scheduled in advance.  Yes, I’d go back the day before a blog would post and reread it for spelling tweaks or to change all my “&” to “and,” but even if they’d gone out without the adjustments, they were full-blown blog posts.

But over the years, it started getting harder for me to come up with enough blogs that weren’t merely repeats of previous posts, so I decided to scale it down to once a month.  That worked well for a while, too, but for the last year or so, it’s been harder and harder for me to stay on track with this.  There are many possible reasons for this, but the ultimate one is that it’s just not “fun” for me anymore.  What was once enjoyable and interesting has started to feel like a chore.  I used to be so pumped about writing these, that I would often have something pop into my head and nearly the entire blog was written before I even sat down at the computer.  But now, I struggle to find topics that I’m interested in writing about, and many times those topics boil down to me complaining about something.  Well, I don’t want to keep complaining, and I’m sure anyone who reads these is getting tired of the complaining, too.

So, it’s time to say farewell, for now.  I’m not sure how long of a hiatus I’ll take from blogging, but for now, I won’t be writing anymore thoughts here.  The site will stay up, so that I can come back to it and write more posts if the spirit moves me to do so, but it’s time for me to move on to something else that excites me.

Like my voice over work.  I’m working with a voice coach right now, and I’m hoping big things will be coming from that soon.

Or this new project I’m working on with my husband, Craig.  Back in 2016, he came up with an idea for a cute animated Christmas special, like the ones we watched as children (How the Grinch Stole Christmas, A Charlie Brown Christmas, etc.).  He and I fleshed the story out a bit and I’ve written a preliminary script, but now we’re actually going to try to work on it and see if some network wants to buy it and show it every year.

These are some of the things that have replaced blogging in my brain space.  So, if you’re interested in keeping up with what’s going on with these projects, here are the ways you can do so:

I have a Facebook page for my VO career (and a website, but it’s still in need of tweaking).  My FB VO page is www.facebook/AlyxMorganVO

Our animated Christmas special is called Christmas for Santa, and you can check out our website at www.xmas4santa.com

Or you can follow our progress on Instagram or Twitter at @xmas4santa

I want to thank each of you for sticking with me on this journey.  It’s been fun “talking” with you and reading your comments.  I hope you follow me into my next adventures.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.