Random, or Unique?

My mom encouraged me to think for myself at a young age.  If I’d ask her what she thought about what I was wearing or what choice to make, she would ask what my opinion was instead.  She taught me that my own opinion was far more important than hers, or anyone else’s.

That wasn’t always easy growing up, because many times kids look for their place in life by following their friends or parents.  It gives them a sense of belonging and acceptance.  So, when my peers were confronted with an anomaly like me, they didn’t know what to do, and resorted to calling me names like “freak”, “odd”, or “weird”.  I would often go home crying and take solace in the song It’s Not Easy Being Green.  Every time Kermit would sing about how difficult it was to be different, I would nod my head in agreement.  But in the end, I also agreed with Kermit that I wouldn’t want to be anything else.

As I got older, I still got called those things (even eccentric was used once or twice), but most of the time it was said good-naturedly.  The label I like best, though, is random.

I was in my twenties and living in Chicago when I first heard that term used to describe me.  I had returned from a vacation in Europe, and declared that I was moving to Prague.  This prompted a co-worker to say “You are so random, Alyx!”  I had to ask her to explain what she meant, because the choice didn’t seem random to me – but of course, I knew the tracks my mind had taken to get me to that decision.  Once she explained it, I was not only comfortable with the term, but I actually embraced it.

I think it’s fun to be “random”.  To blaze paths most people haven’t, or wouldn’t.  I enjoy trying things that “most” people would pooh-pooh (I say “most”, because in a world of billions of people, I’m sure there are more like me than my small community would indicate).  What others may find weird, I actually find fascinating.

Robert Frost’s The Road Not Taken, explains it all perfectly, to me:

…Two roads diverged in a wood and I…took the one less traveled by
And that has made all the difference.

I first learned of this poem back when I was nine, and it remains my favorite to this day.  Granted, I haven’t read too many, but I doubt it would matter.  Yes, it might be easier to traverse a path that someone has blazed before me, but apparently I become bored quickly with “easy”.  If something doesn’t prove a challenge, my mind isn’t stimulated, and I tend to lose interest.  Sometimes, when the quick success I think I want doesn’t materialize, I have to remind myself of that fact, but most of the time I remember.  😉

There are so many wonderful things in this world of ours that wouldn’t be, if not for someone saying “hmmm…wonder what would happen if we did this…”

Edison.  Einstein.  Lucas.  Seuss.  All enriched our world because they were willing to try something others hadn’t before.  While I might not ever achieve the same greatness they did, I like to think we’re kindred spirits.  Maybe they too were called “odd”, “weird”, “freak”, and “random”.  If so, I am definitely in good company.

We all have some special quality that makes us unique.  I say, celebrate that which makes you stand apart from the crowd!  So tell me, in what way have you blazed your own trail?  It could be something as simple as making rice krispy treats with Fruity or Cocoa Pebbles, or it might be something grander.  Either way, come, share your randomness with me & the boys (Edison, Einstein, et al.)