Taking a Step Back

From time to time I’ve mentioned the three different careers I’m trying to get off the ground.  My dream is that one (or all) of them will bring in enough income so that I can eventually quit my day job and be my own boss.  That glorious day hasn’t arrived yet, but I’m becoming more and more aware that I need to put more of my energy and focus into those careers if I want any of them to give me the freedom I so strongly desire.

Because of this new knowledge that I have to be more diligent in where I spend my time, I’m going to cut back on the frequency of this blog.  It’s something I’ve been thinking and fretting about for several months, but I finally came to a place where writing a weekly blog became more of a chore than joy.  Don’t get me wrong, I still like to write it, but it became more and more difficult to think of topics to write about.  My head’s been getting so filled up with marketing info and upcoming gallery shows, or finding time in my calendar to record auditions, that finding any space in my brain for subjects to write about was challenging.  It’s part of the reason I had to put my author endeavors aside for a while, too.

But–as I said–I still enjoy writing this blog, so I don’t want to give it up completely.  Which is why I think deciding to write just one blog a month is a nice compromise.  I’m currently writing another blog for the art business just one day a month, and that has proved quite doable.

Besides, I’ve found that this blog lately has become more of a vehicle for me to rant about recent events in the world, and that’s not exactly what I wanted to focus on.  When I started this blog, it was to create an online presence for my writing career, but it slowly morphed over into didactic commentary on things in life; kind of like Robert Fulghum, whose words have a unique way of lifting my spirits whenever I read them.  I’m not nearly as philosophical as he is–or, at least, not in the same way–but I aspired to write similarly, and I’ve seen places where that’s fallen short.  I know it’s more important to be my own kind of writer and all that, but . . . well, I don’t know, maybe I’m just searching for reasons to back off on this blog that won’t seem like I’ve gotten lazy.  And I know it’s not laziness; I feel that I’ve got a valid reason for decreasing the frequency of my posts.  I just don’t want to get to a place where I’m simply phoning these blogs in, and I feel that if I continue writing them on a weekly basis, that’s exactly what will happen.

Anyway, I want to thank each and every one of you who has been with me throughout this long journey, and I invite you to stick around!  I’m not going away, just taking a step back for a while.  Hopefully doing so will help me create better blogs for you to enjoy.  You know . . . the whole quality over quantity thing.  😉

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
