Brain Fried!

For the last several months I have been working on a project that has consumed my brain; planning a two-day offsite meeting for 60 executives at the company.    Thankfully I’ve had help from the other admin in my group, but we were both still highly stressed, especially as the event drew nearer.  Not to mention the fact that we also were expected to do our daily jobs, which consisted of multiple travel arrangements and changes, expense reports, calendaring and general “Help Me” questions that come up throughout the course of our day.

As I’m sure most of you can agree, that kind of stress and focus does something to your brain; it fries it.  Like those old commercials with the egg in a frying pan. I found myself feeling like I didn’t have a handle on anything else in my life, which I probably didn’t, just because all my energy had to go to planning this event.

I don’t like feeling like that.  I realize that I don’t have control of every situation that comes my way, but there were moments that I truly felt lost, and I really don’t like feeling lost.

I’m someone who tends to become highly focused on whatever task I’m taking on, and any interruptions (whether it’s a short question asked in person, or an in-depth email or phone call requiring a detailed answer) tend to throw me out of whack.  And this last month–with the intensity building up the closer we came to the event–it was like that every hour of every work day.

In the past, when people disturbed my working day, I apparently responded in a very curt way.  I’ve actually been told by some people that they thought I was upset at them.  I’ve since tried to soften my reaction to the interruptions, and have begun to explain that I’m in the middle of something else, and can they please email their request to me.  Thankfully, people have taken that approach really well, probably because they understand what it’s like to be too busy to take anything else on.  I’ve also had to learn to leave the emails alone until I’ve finished with my current task.

Those new skills came in quite handy during this recent slammed phase of my working life.  They helped me to not feel like I had to take on every single thing people wanted me to do right at the moment they thought they needed it.

Unfortunately, it didn’t help when it came to my home life.  Thankfully, Craig was great about helping out–many times without me having to ask–but when I would come home from work I had so little energy left, that I rarely did anything other than flop down on the couch and watch TV.  And there was an additional bit of stress with a co-worker, so that I was often in tears or wishing I didn’t have to go in to the office.  So that didn’t help matters much.

When the days of the event finally arrived, they were also stressful–herding 60 people to different activities often is–but I was able to handle that pressure more easily, because I knew after Day 2 that it would all be behind me, and life could go back to normal.

Another good thing about being in the midst of all the hoopla and intensity was that it forced me to reevaluate what I was taking on in my life even without this extra task.  I had to decide to put a couple of things on back burners for a while until other areas in my life settled down.

I’m now a week and a half on the other side of the all-encompassing 2-day event, and I don’t feel fully relaxed or back to my usual self, but I also don’t feel quite so brain fried anymore.  Now my brain is just simmering.  😉

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. csmithsq
    Oct 24, 2014 @ 09:13:05

    I’ve had a bit of brain fry recently too, and I’m sure that it didn’t help your situation either. (To everyone else): During the build-up to her event, I had my scheduled rotator cuff surgery to fix my right shoulder. I was not able to use my shoulder at all for about a month. It’s still in a sling, and I can use it marginally for low- to no-strength things. But what this has done is that it made me have to evaluate every single thing I do, all day long as to whether or not I can do it, how to do it with my non-dominant hand. Not to mention I can’t drive at all. So anything Alyx can’t take me to with the car, I’ve had to figure out public transportation for. This has included job interviews. So, typing, filling out job applications, making meals, grocery shopping, SLEEPING, have all been constant adventures, and my brain is just tired of considering. Alyx and I have both been dealing with these stressors at the same time for the last month to month and a half. No wonder we feel out of sync and are still ‘simmering’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
