That’s Icky!

A few weeks back I wrote about some of my food issues.  I truly have so many, that I thought I’d write a second one to explain a few more of them (sadly, I’m sure there will be at least one more blog on this topic, maybe before the year is out).

Texture is a HUGE thing for me when it comes to food.  And I recently read a study that’s showing how texture plays a very important part in eating for many people.  However, when I went to look for it, I found that there have been several studies over the years.  Honestly, just type “Food Texture Study” into Google and see how many different ones there are.  Yet it’s funny to note that so many people I discuss this topic with give me a blank stare when I mention texture.  They lose the stare when I explain further . . .

I don’t like tiny, grain-like substances.  For instance, I LOVE hominy, but can’t stand grits (which, for those not in the know, is finely diced up hominy).  I’m also not a big fan of rice.  I’ll eat fried rice on occasion, and I’ve come to realize that I enjoy wild rice, but white rice or brown rice . . . yuck!

I’m also not a fan of what I call “barely there” substances.  Cool Whip?  Ugh.  In fact, the only sort of whipped cream I’ll ingest is from a can and then ONLY in hot chocolate, sometimes.  I prefer mini marshmallows in my hot chocolate, thank you very much.  I realize both are basically just made of sugar and air, but there’s more to a marshmallow.  You can at least sink your teeth into one and chew it.  I don’t even like meringue.  I LOVE Lemon Meringue Pie, but I always take off the layer of meringue, and try to do it with a different utensil than the fork I’ll eat it with; I REALLY don’t like meringue.

But the biggest one for me is foreign substances in food.  I have actually stopped eating a food for years at a time simply because I took a bite that had some odd, foreign substance in it.

For example, tiny bones in canned tuna fish.  It doesn’t happen often, thankfully, but the last time I took a bite of some that had a tiny bone in it, I honestly didn’t eat tuna fish again for several years.  I also have a strong aversion to eating a real beef cheeseburger and discovering a hard piece of gristle or cartilage in it.  Even a small bit of egg shell in an omelette just sends shivers through my body.  I don’t know if I can explain it very well, but biting down on something that my brain “knows” doesn’t belong in whatever dish causes the aforementioned shivers, as well as a strong gag reflex.  In most cases I’ll stop eating the dish (even if it’s the first bite), and will avoid said food altogether for a while (or, in the case of eggs, only eat them at home).

Slimy is another texture I can’t get into.  My mom said that I loved liver when I was younger (probably because I was considered anemic), but the last time I remember eating liver, I was in my tween years, and I was so disgusted that I haven’t touched it since.  There was a sliminess to it that still makes my skin crawl.  That’s also the main reason you won’t EVER catch me trying clams, oysters or snails.  I’ve heard too many people describe them as “slimy” or “rubbery,” or else they’ve said how you shouldn’t chew it, but just swallow it whole.  Well, I’m sorry, but the thought of that makes me imagine swallowing a big glob of phlegm.  *SHUDDER*  No.  Thank.  You.

So now you have some more insight into my weirdness in relation to food.  Stay tuned, there will be more.  But please don’t think I’m too crazy . . . I just don’t like eating things I think are icky.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Malena E.
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 10:46:04

    This was a lot of fun to read, Alyx. I guess we all have our food issues. I totally agree with you about the texture thing. Something can taste just fine, but if the texture is wrong I won’t eat it. Like a mealy apple.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Oct 17, 2014 @ 11:02:40

      OH! Yes, Malena! Mealy apples are the worst! I don’t like applesauce because of the mealiness of it. And I rarely eat apples, either, because I fear getting a gross one.

      Glad you enjoyed the post, & thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
