Cherries vs. UPS

I recently had an issue that resulted in a $160 loss due to poor customer service on the part of UPS.  But first, some back story . . .

I LOVE black cherries!  I’ve loved them as long as I can remember.  My mother once bought a 10 pound box of black cherries for me, and I ate at least five pounds of them within a span of three days.  I love their texture, and I love their sweetness, and a few years ago I learned that there are several different variations of black cherries.  This helped me to narrow down my preference to the Brooks and Rainier varieties.

Unfortunately, sweet cherries have a very small ripe season; late May to Early June.  Fortunately, there are several farms an hour’s drive from Alameda where people can pay to pick their own cherries.  So for the last few years, my family and I trek out there on a Saturday and pick several pounds of those delicious purple orbs.

This year, I thought it would be a great idea to pick enough cherries to last the year until next season, so we ordered a small freezer from Home Depot’s website to accommodate all that we’d planned on picking.  When we found out the delivery date was a Monday, we decided to pick the cherries the Saturday before, so they’d be able to be pitted & ready to store in the freezer.  Craig, Athena and I went out to Brentwood and picked over $160 worth of cherries (nearly 50 lbs worth).  Hey, I said I liked cherries.  😉

Unfortunately, when I checked the UPS site to see when my freezer would be delivered, it appeared as though they “lost” my package, and things only got worse from there.  On Tuesday, it looked like my package had been “found” again, but each time I called UPS I was told “it will be delivered before end of day today, ma’am.  I even got one person who told me that when I called at 11p that night.  “I can assure you, ma’am,” she said, “your freezer will be delivered before the end of the day.”  “I can assure YOU,” I replied.  “That there is no way your drivers are still out at this time of night, as it’s nearly midnight.”  Trying to get a straight answer from people about what the hell had happened to my freezer.

The freezer finally arrived at 7:30p on Wednesday . . . damaged.  But that wasn’t the worst part.  The worst part was that–by the time the freezer arrived–the $160 in cherries we’d picked were spoiled, having sat around the house with the June temperatures heating our house.

Any time I called UPS to complain and ask for a refund on not just the damaged freezer, but also my cherries, I was told that I’d have to take both matters up with Home Depot.  “But my cherries are ruined because of YOUR drivers,” I told them.  I didn’t think that Home Depot should have to pay for something that wasn’t their fault.  However, no matter how many people I talked to (and I had an inside person at UPS do some digging for me), I kept getting told to take it up with Home Depot.

Home Depot graciously refunded us the cost of the freezer, but was only willing to offer us a $75 gift card for them.  I’m grateful that they did that, even, but it still rankles that UPS didn’t somehow get dinged for their egregious errors.

Someone suggested that I talk to a local news group that might be able/willing to help me recoup the rest of the monies from the cherries, but I’m not sure I want to fight this anymore.  I was angry for the few days before the freezer finally arrived, and absolutely livid to find it arrived bent and broken.  I was even angry for the first few weeks after that, while I tried getting properly compensated by UPS.  But now four months has passed, and I’m not sure what “good” it would do me to rehash everything again.

I can tell you one thing, though, I won’t be ordering anything from Home Depot’s website again, and I’ll think twice before ordering from anyone who uses UPS for shipping.

How about you?  Have you had a similar issue when ordering something?  I’d like to hear your take on it.  Did you go to a higher power to get recompensed?  If so, how did that turn out?

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
