Cleaning House

I’ve mentioned before how there are times that this blog doesn’t get written until the day (or even night) before it posts.  I recently even finished writing/editing a post just 30 minutes before it was scheduled to arrive on the internet.  I REALLY didn’t like scrambling that much, so I hope I won’t cut it that close again.

But it’s not just my blog writing that sometimes gets pushed out as far as possible.  Cleaning house is another area I try to stay on top of, but oftentimes it gets pushed to the back burner until the day before we have guests coming over.

I want to do better . . . I really do.  But the truth of the matter is I don’t like cleaning; never have.  From the time I was a child who had to do chores in order to earn a weekly allowance, I’ve disliked it.  Some chores I don’t mind (vacuuming is okay) and others, I loathe (Like dusting.  I can’t STAND dusting!), but I know they all need to be done, unless I’m okay living like a slob . . . which I’m not.

The other problem is that, now, so many things get in the way.  When I was a kid, I’d get home from school two hours before Mom, so there was “extra” time then.  I still put it off until the last half hour before she was due to walk in the door, but I at least felt like I had some fun time before I had to do the “work.”  Nowadays, Craig and I are the ones working all day.  Then we have to come home to fix and eat dinner.  Next there’s either editing photos, or some other aspect of our photography business, or else we’ve got a class or other event to attend at night.  Or maybe we need some down time and just want to chill out on the couch before hitting the sack.  Then bedtime (for me, at least) is 9pm before I start the process all over again the following day.

Okay, okay, if I’m going to be honest with everyone, we probably choose to chill out on the couch on a night when we could clean instead, but most times we’re not in the right mood . . .

C&H Last Minute Panic

There are SO many places where last-minute panic helps you get things done lickety-split.  Obviously it comes down to procrastination for a variety of reasons, but is sounds nicer Calvin’s way.

What I’d really love is to pay someone to come clean our home for us.  To be able to walk in from work and not see the food stain on the kitchen floor that I swiped at when it happened, but just haven’t had enough time to properly mop (or whatever other mess I notice in the house) would be wonderful!  I’m just not sure how much it costs to get a reliable, trustworthy, and diligent cleaning person these days.  In my head it’s more than we can afford right now, but maybe I need to look into it further.

Until I do, I realize we still have to do the cleaning ourselves.  I’ve been thinking lately that the weekend is a place where we could clean and I think I want to start scheduling our home chores for then.  I figure–if Craig and I each clean one room per weekend–the whole place will be clean in just three weeks, and then we just start over again.  That way, it doesn’t usually take more than 30 minutes to clean one room (especially if it’s been less than a month since the last time it was cleaned).  PLUS, we’d have a home that’s mostly spotless.

Now if I can just get in the right mood to initiate this trend . . .  😉

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bette Golden Lamb
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 13:43:11

    Best laid plan do not exist for me when it comes to cleaning. I hate it with a passion. The only thing that works is inviting people over to the house. Can’t let my friends know what a slob I am:)

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Aug 29, 2014 @ 13:55:04

      LOL, Bette! Yep, I totally feel you. Whether it’s friends coming for dinner, or family coming to visit. Lately, that’s the only time my house gets really cleaned.

      Thanks for stopping by today.

      Reply

  2. Nancy Adams
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 08:54:16

    Cleaning is the thing I put on the back burner, too. You could tell if you walked in our house! Let us know if you find the magic bullet!

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Aug 31, 2014 @ 09:53:03

      LOL The only “magic bullet” I’ve found is like Bette . . . people coming over. But it’s nice to know I’m not the only one in this arena.

      Thanks for visiting today, Nancy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
