Part of Everything

I’m going to start today’s blog off with one of my favorite clips from the movie Powder:

Powder Clip 1

It is so easy for us to feel disconnected from everyone and everything.  That whole “us/them,” or “them/me” mentality is what causes people to start wars, or hurt someone (intentionally or not).  Or why we think that we’re the only person who has a certain fear, or a particular foible.

I think that’s why group therapy can often work so well, and probably why there are so many 12-step programs out there.  With them you get a chance to to tell people your story and just seeing nodding heads can make you feel better about yourself and less alone.  Or hearing yourself in someone else’s story can help bridge that mental gap we have where we think that we’re such a horrible person, because “nobody else” feels the way we do.

I wonder if that disconnection is why some people commit suicide.  Maybe they feel that separation so strongly that even hearing another person’s similar story might not be enough to help them see that they’re not alone in their thoughts.

But wouldn’t it be cool if we could all fully realize just how connected we truly are?  To our friends/family.  To plants and animals.  To the entire universe, and even God (if that’s how you believe).  I think it even says in the Bible how we’re all connected to God.  I don’t know if it’s through Jesus, or because we’re part of Him, but I think there’s something in there about that.

I like to think of it more like molecules of energy.  And just like our bodies are made up of vast quantities of molecules and atoms, we’re each a molecule or atom of energy in this vast universe we inhabit.  We’re unique in our individuality to certain degrees, but down at a molecular level, we’re also the same.

It’s one of the things that I think traveling the world helps open my eyes to; the fact that–even though I’m thousands of miles away from my home and the reality I live in each day–I can see people around me enjoying the same things I enjoy.  Laughing at the same things I laugh at.  Smiling at a baby’s antics like I do.  And when I witness that, it makes me feel just a bit more connected to my fellow humans.

I often wonder if we feel that connection again the closer we get to death.  I think it would be neat if that’s the case.  I can see how it might not be such a welcome moment if you did some “horrible” things earlier in your life.  But if you were a mostly “good” person, I would think the sensation of feeling so connected would be a magical one.  And what a great way to pass on to the next journey.

In that vein, I’m going to end today’s blog with another scene from the movie Powder.  WARNING: don’t click on the clip if you don’t want to spoil the movie’s ending.  If you haven’t seen the movie, much of the people’s reactions won’t make sense to you anyway.  And, if you have seen the movie, make sure you have some tissue with you.

In this final scene, you see proof of how Powder–and in fact everyone–is part of everything.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bette Golden Lamb
    May 23, 2014 @ 23:52:03

    Wonderful, ethereal, blog. We are all one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
