Making Introductions

I love showing people new sights and flavors.  My best friend, Nikki, thinks it’s odd when I say that I’ve “introduced” someone to such-and-such restaurant, but what else would you call it when you offer someone a new experience?

I think part of the reason I like doing it as much as I do is because I love being there to see the enjoyment on a person’s face; much like you get to do when someone unwraps a present that you’ve given him/her.  It’s neat to see the joy, surprise, or excitement when they get something that they’ve “always wanted.”  With food, it’s the “Ohmygod, this is delicious!” and other yummy noises that they make that gets me going.  I love food, and when I find a place with really good dishes, I definitely want to share that wealth with my friends and family.

But even more than food, I love to introduce people to new experiences.

When I worked at Disney, I LOVED when friends/family would come to visit.  I got such a thrill out of showing them my favorite parts of the parks that only Cast Members (or Disney-files who go there for EVERY family vacation) know about.  Their sighs of pleasure at the sights, or their squeals of excitement on the thrill rides were absolute gems to my ears.

Craig_Eiffel_TowerWhen Craig and I went to Greece for our honeymoon, I made sure we did a brief stop over in Paris on our way.  Partly because it had been eight years since I’d been there myself, but I also wanted to share the magic of my favorite city with my new husband.  We had to rush to get from the airport to downtown Paris and back in enough time to catch our next flight, but we didn’t mind.  We walked along the Seine hand in hand, got to see la Tour Eiffel, and I got to introduce Craig to the deliciousness of a true, Parisian, buttery croissant (mmm-mmm).  Even though we only got to spend maybe 90 minutes in the city, it was worth it for Craig to get a taste of the magic that is the City of Lights.

But I don’t always have to be the one making introductions; I also enjoy when others introduce me to new sights and sounds.  Not so much flavors, because I have some serious food issues, so I tend to not be as adventurous when it comes to trying new foods, but if Craig wants to show me some cool place he’s been and act as tour guide, I’m all for it.

They (you know, that collective group of know-it-alls) say that having new experiences keeps you young, and I’d have to say that I agree with that.  Each new sight or taste is a chance to expand your comfort zone, which in turn helps you grow, and I truly believe that you grow “old” when you stop growing/learning.

I certainly start to feel stale if I have the same experiences over and over again.  I’ve never been able to eat the same dish for breakfast or lunch for more than two days in a row.  The same is true for routes I take to get from point A to point B.  I have to change it up every now and then and take a different route, because otherwise it just becomes too boring.  I don’t know if that’s because I’m a Gemini (we need a lot of stimuli), or if it’s more due to the fact that I’ve always had this thirst to try everything in life.  But whatever the reason, I like new adventures.

So I’m gonna go right on “introducing” people to restaurants and places, and I welcome others to do the same for me!  I’ll be sure to share some of the best ones with you here so we can all grow young together!  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Craig
    May 09, 2014 @ 13:12:35

    One thing that I think should be said, is that I have occasionally witnessed fear from others that make them not want to try something I suggest. When something is suggested to me, I feel it too, of course, but I try to go beyond that. The fear is that they won’t like whatever it is. I think most people should remember that the suggestion is being given because the suggester LIKES something. And under most circumstances, that person has taken into account who you are, and what you’d like, and is not trying to ‘get something by you’, or trick you into doing/tasting something you wouldn’t like. They actually want you to enjoy what they’re offering. So, consider the source. If it’s someone that has a habit of playing pranks, or loves seeing you make the ‘bitter beer face”, then yes, hesitation is warranted. But if it’s a trusted friend, remember, you’re very likely to enjoy what they say you may enjoy. So jump right in. The odds are in your favor that you’ll have a pleasurable experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
