Paying Attention

I’ve mentioned before how I’m not someone who plans her life very well.  I’ve generally been more of a jump in and see what happens kind of girl.  Well, the same is often true when it comes to buying things online.

I LOVE shopping on eBay.  In fact, I love shopping online, period.  Other than clothes and groceries, most of the stuff I buy comes from either eBay or Amazon; I also used to buy CDs on Half.com, before I converted to digital music.  Part of the reason I do it is because I can’t stand crowds, so especially around Christmas time, I can do my price checking, browsing and buying without having to shove or be shoved to get what I want.

Another perk is how much time I save buying things online.  I don’t have to get in the car, drive to store B, because store A didn’t have a particular item, and then again drive on to store C, D or E, because they’re all specialty stores.  I probably got spoiled by Meijer in Michigan; which was the precursor to Super Wal-Mart and Super Target.  At Meijer, you could buy your groceries, clothes, automotive needs, and whatnot, all under one roof.  You could also have your shoes repaired there, get a haircut, rent a movie, or maybe grab lunch.  I kid you not, there wasn’t much of a reason to shop at any other store with Meijer in town.

Meijer_warren

But the main reason I shop online is because of how much money I can save doing so.  When I know what I’m looking for, I’ll peruse both eBay and Amazon to find the best deal.  And in many cases, I can buy items used, but still in great condition.  There are some things that I like to own new, but if I can save $50 on an electronic gadget because it was last year’s model and someone wants this year’s model . . . sign me up!

I’ve become a much savvier online shopper than I used to be, which helps, too.  When I first began buying online, I wound up getting things that weren’t exactly what I’d thought I had purchased.  This was where my “jump in and see what happens” attitude would bite me in the butt.

One such purchase still “haunts” me to this day, and probably will for the next 40 years or so.

When it comes to toiletries, I’m someone who finds a brand she loves and sticks with it.  So it frustrates me no end when companies decide to “improve” or discontinue their product, for whatever reason–I’m still on the lookout for a decent body wash that I would want to stick to.

So when my favorite bath soap, Pure & Natural started disappearing from the shelves, I scrambled to eBay and looked for a large lot that I could buy.  When I found one that said it was for 500 bars (no that’s not a typo) for $70 (including shipping), I snatched it up.  After I made the purchase, I wondered what on Earth I was going to do with 500 bars of soap, but I wasn’t too concerned.  If I had to give away a few bars, or sell some back on eBay, I was more than happy to do so, as long as it meant I would have enough stock for myself.

I hadn’t thought about how heavy that many bars of soap would be, nor had I planned where I might store them all, but those two points aren’t the best part of this tale . . .

In my haste to become well-stocked in my favorite suds, I failed to look closely at the description.  When my soap arrived, I was a little surprised to see only one box, albeit one HEAVY box.  What I’d failed to notice was that I had bought 500 little bars of soap that hotels use for guests.

On the one hand, that mistake was in my favor, because it’s been interesting finding places to store that many tiny bars of soap.  I can’t imagine how difficult it would be if I’d gotten the larger ones.  It also does make for a great laugh each time we move and I have to pack them up in a box.

I made that purchase almost 10 years ago, and haven’t even gone through a quarter of those bars.  Technically, I suppose it could be construed as a “mistake,” but hey, I doubt I’ll have to buy bar soap again in my lifetime.  Maybe I can even will some to my grandkids.  😉

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 02:41:23

    …your post made my day and put a smile on my face! 🙂 I’m such a traditional freak that it makes me happy to touch and see the items I buy properly. I only shop on line when I need something from abroad,-)…which reminds me…I’ve been looking for your tea and it seems that they discontinued supplying the regular stores with your favorite tea….let’s hope they haven’t decided to discontinue producing this tea.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Jan 17, 2014 @ 04:35:33

      Noooo! They can’t take my tea, too! I’ll have to see if I can find it online & see where it might be sold around you, or maybe . . . they’ll start selling it online to me over here! 😀

      Thanks for stopping by today, lady.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
