When “Fast Food” Is too Slow

I know we’re living in a fast-paced world nowadays, where instant gratification seems to take forever.  I also realize that many people are harshly affected by our current financial woes.  However, I can’t BELIEVE that we’re so hard-pressed for time and money that this has now become part of our world:

BK Delivers

First off . . . why?  Why would people want to have true fast food delivered?  There’s practically a fast food restaurant of some type on every corner nowadays (next door to at least one Starbucks), so unless you live out in the boonies, or are Amish, chances are it would take you maybe five or ten minutes to grab something from your favorite fast food joint.  And, if you are one of the groups I mentioned above, you’re probably outside of their delivery area, anyway.

Secondly, take a close look at the verbiage below the word “delivery.”  I’m sorry, but I’m calling bullshit right there.  I got some breakfast from them a couple of weeks ago and the food was tepid at best, by the time I got home to eat it . . . and I live maybe four blocks from the restaurant.  PLUS, I was in my car, driving.  So unless they’re cooking it for me in the back of their cars on the way to my house, there’s NO WAY the food would arrive “hot and fresh” if they were to deliver to me.

When I came home to find an ad for this new service on my front door (like a Chinese take-out menu) I actually laughed, thinking they’d wasted so much money on their advertising.  Then, when I saw in the fine print that there’s a $2 delivery charge and a $10 minimum order, I laughed at the people I imagined would actually succumb to this door to door advertising.  However, since then, I’ve had some time to reflect on this more and realized it might not be so stupid on BK’s part.

We as a society have been ordering take out pizza for years, right?  Most of those have a $10 minimum or less.  You can also get food delivered from any number of sit-down restaurants in your area, and with just a $12-$15 limit for delivery.  What Burger King is offering isn’t that much different, especially when you figure that a combo meal costs at least $7.  If your partner or kids want something from there too, you’ve easily got the minimum.

And with people being able to purchase groceries online, even from Amazon.com, I guess it’s not such a stretch that fast food delivery would be on the horizon.  I personally don’t buy my food online to have it delivered to me, but many people do, because of the convenience in our ever faster-paced world.

Besides, I remember when you could start using your debit cards at fast food places.  I laughed when that practice started, too, because I thought “Who’s gonna charge $4 to their credit card?  It didn’t take me even a year before I joined the ranks of people who paid for a Bean and Cheese Burrito (or something similar) with a debit card.  I did hang my head in shame at first, but we’ve become a world so adept at paying for things with plastic, it was inevitable.

I don’t know anyone who’s taken advantage of that service–and I certainly can’t see any office using it as their go-to catering company–but given where we’re headed technologically and financially, I can’t simply laugh it off as a dumb idea on BK’s part anymore.  But it still seems weird to me, and I highly doubt that I’ll ever do it myself.

What’s your take on this?  Do you think it’s a ridiculous idea?  Do you think it’s been a long time coming?  Or did you just now learn about it and are picking up your phone to call in your dinner order right now?  😉

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dolly Chamberlin
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 07:08:44

    I laughed when I read your words “. . . I highly doubt I’ll ever do it myself.” I remember the days when I was adamant about ‘not ever’ doing something, & then having to eat those words because I found myself in a circumstance doing that very thing. I’ve learned about phrasing. lol
    Words can be power. LOVES :}

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Dec 20, 2013 @ 07:24:52

      Yep, me too. I rarely–if ever–say the word “never” anymore when talking about something I don’t want to do. In my life, “never” equals “certainty.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
