Banned Books Week 2013

Last year, I walked into my local library and saw a display of lots of books.  Upon closer inspection, I noticed that this was a display of books that had been banned around the world for a variety of reasons, and that the library was celebrating something called Banned Books Week.

ALA Freadom Slide 2013 (2)

I knew that there were certain groups who didn’t like certain books (Christians/Harry Potter, for example), but I didn’t realize there were actually groups of people who fought for–and in some cases, won–the outlawing of books.  Those were things that only happened in movies as far as I knew.  I suppose I shouldn’t have been quite so naive, but I was.

What surprised me even further was the actual list of books that have been banned in certain cities, or even countries.  As stated above, I’ve heard of the hatred for the Harry Potter books, but things like Shel Silverstein, or Roald Dahl stories sat alongside Catcher In the Rye and To Kill a Mockingbird in the display at my library.  Why would anyone anywhere think of Shel Silverstein’s poems as something that needed to be banned, I wondered.

banned_books_by_wrwarnecke-d41e8ps.pngYou’d be surprised to see what books have been banned through the years, and for what reasons.  Classics like The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, The Grapes of Wrath, or even Moby Dick are all on there, as is The Bible.  It’s also astonishing to read the reasons why these books are outlawed.  And every year, more and more books get added to the list.

Since I love to read, I believe that everyone should have the right to read what s/he wants. Reading is an essential part of learning, and there are some wonderful books that can teach you a great number of things.  Even books that are fictional can teach you to expand your imagination, or inspire you to travel to distant lands.

When I looked closer at the library’s display last year, I saw that they were looking for readers to partake in the Banned Books Week.  I immediately signed up to volunteer to read for 30 minutes from one of the books that was in the display.  In fact, I signed up for two sessions.  Both times I wound up reading something from Roald Dahl, and both times I found a quirky book that I’d never read before.

They’re holding the event again this year.  In fact, it’s back by popular demand, and I’ve signed up for two reading sessions again this year.  I haven’t yet decided if I will read something from a book or author that I’m familiar with, or if I’ll pick a story that I’ve never heard of before.  I currently think I’ll do the latter, but we’ll see how courageous I get when the days actually come.  😉

If you’re in the area, I’d love for you to come and show your support for this worthy cause by listening to one of my readings.  The details are as follows:

Sunday, September 22  3:30p-4:00p
Saturday, September 28  3:00p-4:00p

Alameda Library
2263 Santa Clara Ave
Alameda, CA 94501

banned_books_weekIf you’re not able to make it to my readings, I encourage you to visit your local library and volunteer to read there.  Or, at the very least, browse their selection of banned books and choose one for your reading pleasure.

Every individual should be allowed to read.  And they should be allowed to choose which book(s) they would most enjoy.

banned-books-eyechart

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dolly Chamberlin
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 11:27:57

    I think people that want to tell me what is right or wrong for me & others, are trying to prove they are right. They don’t understand what might be right for them, isn’t always right for another, or everyone else. This shows ignorance, in my opinion, & I find this level of mentality sad. People who want ALL others to follow their thoughts, & instigate laws to govern same, don’t care if it’s by choice or not. This is where bullies and dictators come from. This is how I see it.
    LOVES :}

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Sep 20, 2013 @ 12:51:02

      Yep, Mom, I can definitely see your point. That’s why I enjoy rebelling in ways like this, where I get to read something that others have said I “shouldn’t.” Plus, it’s a great way to get a taste of new stories.

      Thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
