Robbie Williams Love

I’m starting today’s post with a video.

This is EXACTLY how I’ve felt for the last several years, and I was THRILLED to see the sentiment appear on a popular TV show!

I’ve mentioned before how much I love Robbie Williams’ music and how I can’t understand why he isn’t more popular here in the States.  Actually, that’s an understatement . . . he’s practically non-existent here in the States.  About nine out of ten people in this country have never heard of him.

And it’s not that he’s some obscure musician from another country.  He’s a MEGA STAR musician from another country.  He has sold over 70 million albums worldwide and is even in the Guinness Book of World Records for selling 1.6 million concert tickets in a single day.

I actually remember that day, because I was living in Prague at the time and–while I’d heard of Robbie and enjoyed his music–I had no idea how HUGE he was over in Europe.  But I came in to work that day and heard everyone there grumbling about how quickly the tickets had been snatched up.  That’s when it hit me just how popular he is . . . everywhere except here.

He’s had some success over on this side of the pond:  Escapology was his best selling album over here, but still only reached #43 on our pop charts.  And only some of his singles enjoyed moderate radio play in the States.  Among them:

Millennium:

Angels:

She’s the One:

These are all great, but he’s got some other songs that are much cooler and less ballad-y:

Bodies:

Rock DJ (WARNING, this video gets a little gross toward the end):

And he’s even done an entire album on some classics, like:

Something Stupid (with Nicole Kidman):

One for My Baby:

Now, I’m not a member of a Robbie Williams fan club, but I can’t help but feel that someone as versatile and talented as Robbie deserves more love and recognition over here in the States.  So I’m doing my part.

I’ll cut this week’s blog short, to give you time to enjoy each of the songs I’ve listed here.  Hopefully we’ll get him more play time here, so that we’ll never again have to search in vain for his music on a jukebox.

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
