Right Place, Right Time

I’ve been an Administrative Assistant since back before the PC term was ever invented.  Not so long ago that I would’ve run across Don Draper, mind you, but it’s been my “career” for over 20 years of my life.

I’ve worked in any number of different companies and departments; never being able to “settle down” anywhere for longer than a couple of years.  But what I lack in stability, I more than make up for with the sheer number of people whose paths have crossed with mine.  I’d never be able to pick out most of them from a lineup, but I still have fond general memories of my coworkers over the years.

Many of my jobs started out as temp work.  Some were pure temp positions, some temp-to-perm, and one was even a straight temp job for someone’s maternity leave that wound up becoming permanent after the mom returned from her leave and then decided she’d rather be a stay at home mom.  In any of the cases where it was a temp-to-perm position, I was hired within three months’ time.  Until now.

I’ve been working at my current employer since January of 2010.  It’s a company that’s a six-mile bike ride from home, pays very well and is large enough to have two cafeterias on site.  Technically, this job wasn’t a temp-to-perm set up, but more of an indefinite temp job.  However, within three months my boss was saying how pleased he was with my work and whatnot and how he’d love to hire me, but he didn’t have the headcount.

Well, six months into what I thought would be a very long-term temp job, the company decided to do some reorganizing.  Another admin was displaced from her permanent job and was moved into mine (though my boss and his group fought against that as hard as they could).  I was repositioned to another department within the company and told that my new role would probably turn into a permanent job, because the person I was replacing moved up within the company.  This department had the coveted headcount to make me an actual employee, if my new boss and I meshed well.

We did, but circumstances changed again and six months into working with him, the company did another reorg, getting rid of all temporary admins and rearranging the permanent ones.  Since I was still a temp, there was a very good chance that I would be let go with the others, but two weeks before I was due to leave a permanent admin left for maternity leave and I was asked to fill the role in her absence.  So I moved to yet another department within the company.

In spite of the instability of my jobs, I kept hearing from each department I’d been placed in how much they loved me, and how they’d wished they could keep me.  Even HR knew my name in a very favorable way, which was why they’d done whatever they could to keep me within the company SOMEWHERE.  It didn’t ease the worrying about whether or not they’d be able to find something for me each time a position ended, but it certainly helped to know that so many people in the company liked me.  They really liked me.  😉

Then as the maternity leave was nearing its end, another position opened up.  A permanent admin was going out on medical leave.  She herself indicated to me that she wasn’t planning on coming back, and hoped I’d get the job.  Within a few short weeks, my new bosses were singing my praises and saying how much they wanted to hire me, but they had to wait the legal amount of medical leave time before they could offer me the job.

The allotted time for her medical leave came and the position was offered to me.  So now I am a permanent employee at this company where I’ve done my longest stint ever as a temporary.  It’s been quite an interesting two-year ride, with all the ups and downs of a roller coaster, but it finally paid off.

There’s an old Zen saying that goes:

“No snowflake ever falls in the wrong place.”

. . . and I guess it’s true.  While I might not have known the reason for being passed around the company at the time, each position eventually led me to this job.  I like my bosses and the other people I work with; and Craig even benefited from the association for a short while.

So, the next time I’m lamenting on why things seem to be taking “so long,” I’ll think back on this experience and realize that everything happens for a reason and leads me where I need to be.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Downs
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 08:52:14

    Morning Alyx – I’m old enough to begin to realize things happen in their own time, not on my timetable. It’s difficult, many times, to just relax, but not pushing something to happen when I want it to often leads to a better result.

    Kathy

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Jan 11, 2013 @ 09:47:01

      Absolutely, Kathy. I learned about that a few years back myself, but it’s still interesting when I see the proof of it, even two years after the fact.

      Thanks for stopping by today.

      Reply

  2. Dana Fredsti
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 10:51:48

    Most excellent!

    Reply

  3. Ted Kilvington
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 04:45:03

    Congratulations Alyx!

    Before I received my current permanent position with the State of Michigan in 2002, I worked four temporary (defined as max of four months with no benefits) and three limited term (defined as a max of two years and with benefits) positions. State of Michigan does offer excellent pay and benefits, and I’ve always been a government nerd, so to me it has been well worth the five-year effort to achieve permanent status.

    I always joked that once I became permanent I was going to throw myself a big party to celebrate. In the summer of 2002 a group of us limited term employees heard a rumor that we would be automatically converted to permanent status. We asked our supervisor about that and he said he would call HR to confirm. They told him we had already been made permanent weeks before! That was rather anticlimactic.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Jan 12, 2013 @ 09:02:37

      Oh man! That would suck to have missed out on your celebratory moment, Ted. I hope you all went out & partied the week that you DID find out about it.

      You’re right about State Government offering good bennies & pay. I know that’s why so many people stay there & why those jobs are so coveted. So, a belated congratulations to you on achieving that. And thanks for your congrats to me. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by & posting as well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
