Getting My Snow Fix

I’ve commented before here how much I’ve missed snow during the holiday season.  Standing outside in a light jacket and sandals with the sun shining brightly overhead and a balmy breeze just doesn’t ring of Christmas to me.  It’s probably because I grew up in Michigan, but for whatever reason, Christmas doesn’t feel right to me without snow.  Well, this year, Craig and I decided to get our snow fix.  I found a great deal on a hotel in Lake Tahoe on Groupon, booked it, and got all excited about our time up north.

We took the trip this past weekend and had a BLAST!  Craig’s daughter, Athena, hadn’t seen snow since she was two, and I have this “rule” that an experience doesn’t count if you can’t remember doing it (which she wholeheartedly agreed with), so we basically called this her “first” snow experience.

As we got up into the mountains and closer to the lake, Athena kept remarking on how beautiful it looked outside with all the trees covered in a heavy blanket of flakes.  Even she said how it “felt” like Christmas to her now, with no prompting from me.  At one point she told us that something had felt like it was missing this season, and now she knew what it was.

We got into Tahoe sometime after midnight, and there was a nice, soft snowfall happening then, so we got out of the car and played a little bit.  We threw snowballs at each other and caught big flakes on our tongues.  Athena even picked up a bunch of snow to eat and decided that this is what Sno-cones should be made out of (don’t worry, we told her to avoid the dirty or yellow stuff).  But we were quite exhausted from the six hour drive, so we soon climbed back in the car, checked into our hotel and zonked out for the night.

I awoke early the next morning and went for a stroll out in a nearby forest preserve.  I took lots of pictures, and just communed with nature for a while, enjoying the quiet and solitude that an early morning in the winter can often provide.  There were even a few gorgeous moments that made me cry (like the one below).

Sunbeams through snow

Sunbeams through snow

When I got back to the hotel, Craig and Athena were up, so we went out, got some breakfast and played in the snow some more.  Athena kept saying how happy she was to see the snow, and Craig and I were both enjoying her enthusiasm.  We were just as thrilled to see a white winter again, but her joy was contagious and made our own glee that much more pronounced.

Craig taught her how to make a proper snowball, and we had several “fights” that ended up with each of us being covered in the white stuff.  We even went outside to make some snow angels and a snowman.  We didn’t get too far with the snowman, however, because the snow wasn’t wet enough.  It was beautiful and soft, but we couldn’t keep it packed tightly enough to create the winter figure.

After we spent some time outside we went back to our hotel and enjoyed some hot chocolate–a winter must–and played games or watched movies while our wet clothes dried a little.  Then we went back outside and did it all again.

We all had such a great time, and Athena suggested that we make this trip an annual tradition, to which Craig and I readily agreed.  I think next year we’re going to stay for longer than a weekend and enjoy some skiing or snowmobiling as well.  But regardless, it felt wonderful to finally get my snow fix and to know that Athena enjoyed the experience as much as we did.  That right there was the icing on the trip.

Whether or not you have snow where you live, I hope you enjoy your holiday season.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana Fredsti
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 09:11:58

    I have a very vivid memory of a holiday trip we took up to Mammoth when Lisa and I were in grade school. Other than the food poisoning we all got, I remember the snow, sledding, reading books by the fire, and a generally wonderful time.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Dec 21, 2012 @ 09:13:00

      Aside from the food poisoning, that sounds like a great trip, Dana. I don’t know what Mammoth is, but I’ll have to check it out.

      Thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
