An Alchemical Transformation

Opening Scene from Love Actually

I love the movie Love Actually, especially the opening sequence where Hugh Grant talks about being at the Arrivals gate at Heathrow.  He mentions seeing all the friends and family greeting their loved ones and how that helps to restore his faith in people and the world.

Well, I had that moment recently and it was amazing.

Craig and I were waiting at the airport for his mom to arrive.  Our kitten, Jasmyn, is a very needy kitty, and we’d flown his mom here so she could keep Jasmyn company while we went away on our honeymoon.  We’d been waiting at SFO a while and hadn’t had dinner yet, AND her plane was delayed, so I began to get frustrated.  It didn’t help that this was the day before we were due to fly out, and we still had some last-minute packing to do.  Plus we were pretty stressed from the workday, trying to get everything done before the trip.

The plane finally landed, and we joined the crowd of people waiting at the area where the passengers would come out.  Even then, it took a while for her to emerge.  It seemed like the entire plane had emptied out, and she was nowhere to be seen.

Just as I was really getting steamed about the wait, I began to notice the other people being greeted by their friends or family.  I saw the smiles on their faces, the joy, the love as they hugged each other, and I was transformed.  I completely forgot about the day’s stress, or the packing that needed to happen, or the hunger in my stomach, and lost myself in the emotional reunions that were happening around me.  It was such an amazing moment that I actually began to tear up with the joy of it all.  And yes, Hugh’s voice over from the movie ran through my head.

Craig noticed the tears and hugged me, knowing exactly what was going on in my head.  I tried to maintain the inner joy after that, but knew I was forcing it a little, and those types of moments should never be forced.

His mom finally came through the airport and we went off for dinner and back home.  Soon I was immersed in the pre-vacation stress again, but it was nice to have had that alchemical transformation; to see the joy and beauty in the moment, rather than be angry or upset over time.  Sometimes I’m able to consciously switch my mood from a bad one to good like that, but I think the spontaneous ones are even more special.  Those are the ones that make my heart swell up and show me what’s breathtaking and magical in the world.

So I’m hoping that you have some wonderful alchemical transformations this holiday season.  There’s much to stress over, what with Black Friday, family dinners, and the economy, but there are also good things to enjoy at this time.  May you be able to focus on those.  And if not, I hope you have a transforming moment that helps you truly appreciate the wonder in your world.

Much love,

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dolly Chamberlin
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 06:41:09

    It’s one of my favorite movies, as well as some of my favorite emotions. LOVES :}

    Reply

  2. kaye george
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 09:35:49

    I love those magical moments. Nice description, Alyx. Once, a few years ago, I did have one that I’ll never forget. The family was gathering for my grandmother’s funeral. I was stressed because my dad was bringing his latest girl friend and I knew it would hurt my mother. The girlfriend/bimbo was trying to worm her way into my heart, or something. Wanting to get away, I’d walked to the DQ with my aunt and we’d treated ourselves and chatted. On my way out, a woman who worked at the DQ, sitting at the last booth, called me over to her. I thought, what now? My stress level was incredibly high and getting higher. She just wanted to tell me she thought I had a beautiful smile. She didn’t have to do that! And it was a mood lifter for hours–until my dad (with bimbo in tow) and mom showed up.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Nov 23, 2012 @ 10:47:42

      What a nice thing for the DQ lady to do. She must’ve somehow “known” you needed that. I love those kinds of unexpected mood lifters. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by today, Kaye.

      Reply

  3. Bette Golden Lamb
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 10:23:36

    Beautiful piece, Alyx. It’s so true. Good will, Love,not only heals us, it sends golden lights throughout the universe. Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  4. Dana Fredsti
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 11:40:10

    Very lovely post, thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
