Give Me a Happy Ending

Romeo and Juliet is considered by many to be the greatest love story of all time.  So is Casablanca, and The Way We Were.  But you know what’s wrong with each of those stories?  THE COUPLES DON’T END UP TOGETHER!  How can it be a “great” love story if love doesn’t win out in the end?  I’ve never understood that belief among movie goers.

Romeo and Juliet kill themselves because the “love of their life” is dead (or in one case, believed to be so).  Are you kidding me?  You guys are TEENAGERS!  Life goes on.  There are other fish in the sea. [Insert cliche here]  At least West Side Story told it better, by Maria going off to deal with her grief, but not killing herself because a guy she knew for MAYBE a week was dead.  Every time someone says they think R&J is a great love story, I roll my eyes.

In Casablanca, Rick sends Ilsa off to be with the other guy, because he feels she deserves better than he can give her???  If he honestly believes that, then I have serious doubts as to how much he loved her in the first place.  Or else he just likes being a martyr.  Blecch!  I just couldn’t get the feeling that he had many feelings for her at all, but maybe that’s because of how PG romance movies had to be back in the day.

And why can’t the two intelligent people in The Way We Were learn to accept the differences in each other?  How were they able to even get together in the first place, if they were so committed to their differing beliefs?  Again, NOT real love!

I will admit that I’m a bit of a movie snob (I avoid most Adam Sandler or Will Ferrell movies like the plague), but I’m not a movie snob that hates a Hollywood ending.  In fact–aside from a few rare movies–I hate when a movie doesn’t end happily for all involved.  I want the murderer brought to justice, the victims to have found true peace, and for love to conquer all.  Does that make me sappy?  Hell yeah!  But what’s wrong with that?

Why do so many critics and movie snobs think that a movie is only telling “real” stories if it’s depressing, or unhappy?  There are some wonderful, happy things that happen in real life, too.  Do they refuse to see those things, because it’s not “cool” to be happy?  If that’s what’s “cool” these days, I’m happy being uncool, thank you very much.

I want my love stories to showcase couples who work through their differences and let love wash over them both.  However, I don’t like it when the intended couple fall in “love” only after having sex.  Um, no . . . that’s lust, people, not love.

Probably one of the best-told love stories in my opinion is When Harry Met Sally.  You see that they had to grow as people.  You see they had their differences, but learned to accept them in one another.  You see that Sally didn’t stop being high maintenance, but that Harry loved her anyway:

Harry: We had this – we had a really wonderful wedding.
Sally: It was – it really was a [laugh] beautiful wedding.
Harry: [overlapping] It was great. We had this enormous coconut cake.
Sally: Huge coconut cake with a – with a – tiers and there was this very rich chocolate sauce on the side.
Harry: Right, cause not everybody likes it on the cake, cause it makes it very soggy.
Sally: Particularly the coconut soaks up a lot of excess and you really – it’s important to keep it on the side.
Harry: Right.

We’re messed up individuals, but we still need love.  We want someone to accept us, foibles and all.  When we find that someone, we should be able to be with them!  I know that doesn’t always happen in real life, but why do you watch movies in the first place, if not to escape real life for a while?

People can still enjoy movies like Casablanca, The Way We Were and Romeo and Juliet, but not me.  Give me a happy ending . . . every time!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maddy
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 09:39:04

    I beg to differ. The only way we [and husband] can ever go and see a movie together [and enjoy it] is if there is an ambiguous ending. He likes to think that everyone lives happily ever after whereas I insist in disaster, misery and total destruction – works perfectly for us.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Aug 24, 2012 @ 10:02:48

      LOL, Maddy. I’m guessing you guys enjoyed The World According to Garp, then. Hopefully you also find time to catch movies on your own, so you can each fully enjoy the kinds of endings you like.

      Thanks for stopping by today.

      Reply

  2. Dana Fredsti
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 09:53:09

    I love happy endings too. I agree with you re: Romeo and Juliet and the fact they’re just kids… angsty kids who would be Goths if they were born in this century… I do love Casablanca and I DO think Rick loved her, but not enough to sustain the relationship. Different kinds of love and not all of them make for a mature, long-lasting relationship…

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Aug 24, 2012 @ 10:10:26

      You’re SO right, Dana! They’d be emo, angsty, goth kids today. Blecchh. You are also right, though, that love comes in so many different shapes & sizes. I guess my biggest beef is with the label “Greatest Love Story” that gets placed on movies like those. I think I equate “great” with “mature & long-lasting.”

      Reply

  3. Bette Golden Lamb
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 09:55:29

    I guess I feel love is a bouquet of many things. Just trying to quantify it, define it, examine it, always fails. That love even exists is a fantastic leap of faith. If you love someone — or are loved — you are among the lucky ones to experience this divine emotion. All the practical details, endings, surroundings — they don’t really matter. Just the experience of loving and being loved is a miracle. Because it really is “better to have loved and lost, than never to have loved at all.”

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Aug 24, 2012 @ 10:17:12

      You’ve got some very valid points there, too, Bette, & have said them very well. I can’t think of any comment to add to them. 🙂

      Thanks for coming by & posting today.

      Reply

  4. Bette Golden Lamb
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 09:56:40

    Forgive me. I didn’t edit it very well!

    Reply

  5. David Fitzgerald
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 10:58:56

    THANK you! Dying is easy – it’s living that’s hard… and that’s where real love is!
    -D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
