Alyx’s Advice – Part 1

There are many things I notice that it seems other people don’t.  So I’ve decided to write a few of those out a la “Hints From Heloise,” to offer insight and assistance to anyone who needs it.  Some of these might actually be helpful, while others are just me dishing about minor annoyances (in a humorous way, hopefully).

  1. Listen for the “click” before pumping your gas.  When I worked at Cumberland Farms in Florida, I can’t tell you how annoying it was when someone would keep fiddling with the gas pump, trying to get gas to come out.  This was back when the attendant had to “approve” the pump, so if someone was impatient enough, I couldn’t even turn it on because they kept trying to pump the gas before I could.  They would simply put the nozzle in their tank, push the lever, and when gas didn’t flow immediately, they would return the nozzle to the pump, take it out and do the whole routine repeatedly, until they were completely frustrated.  Their frustration would have been avoided if they just knew to listen for the muffled sound that happens when the pump has been opened to receive the gas.  You can still hear it on the newer pumps.  Listen for it next time, you’ll see what I’m saying.  When you hear that noise, THEN you can begin pumping your gas.
  2. Give your baby a bottle or pacifier when flying in an airplane.  This is one tip that I assumed people knew, until I realized that not everyone loves to fly as much as I do, nor have they been raised on airplane facts from birth.  So, whenever I hear a screaming baby on a plane, my heart goes out to the baby, and I want to tell the parents to stick a bottle in his/her mouth.  The change in cabin pressure is causing their ears to hurt, and babies don’t have the knowledge yet to swallow or pop their ears.  That’s why they need to have something to suck on, so their involuntary swallowing mechanism kicks in.  Please, parents of newborns, do yourselves, your baby, and your fellow passengers a favor . . . put a bottle in your baby’s mouth!
  3. Pushing an elevator’s button won’t make it move any faster.  This one always gets me.  Sometimes I just want to laugh, and other times I want to make some snarky comment to the person.  But I think this cartoon says it quite succinctly.
  4. Look before pushing said elevator button.  This should’ve been called 3A, because it’s really a continuation of the point above, but I find it just as silly when someone gets on to an elevator where there are already passengers, and the lobby button is clearly lit up, and yet the new boarder STILL pushes the lobby button.  Maybe they’re the same people guilty of point number 3, but I think it’s more likely that they’re just acting on autopilot, and not paying attention.
  5. Taking your child to Disney before s/he is 5 years old is usually a waste of your money.  Yes, there are some toddlers who seem to enjoy the parks, but by and large, they’re either sleeping the day away in their stroller while the parents walk around, tiring themselves out, or they’re scared shitless of the huge, furry creatures looming over them.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve witnessed Mickey backing away from a screaming baby, for fear that Child Services might be called in.  And all The Mouse did was to come over and smile down on the kid.  ‘Course, if I saw a mouse six times my size hovering over me, I think I’d scream bloody murder, too.

There.  I hope those have helped some of you (or given a chuckle to the rest of you).  I’ll post more of these from time to time, as they crop up.  And feel free to share some of your pointers in the comments section.  I’d love to learn little things to make my life easier.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana Fredsti
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 09:27:58

    I’d add something for pressing the “walk” button at the cross stop too. People who stand there and hit it about 10 times… drives me crazy.

    Heh. my godson was the toddler that was the exception to the Disneyland rule . We took him at age 3 and it was the most fun I’ve had there since I was a kid! But by and large, yeah…

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Aug 10, 2012 @ 09:30:14

      Yes, Dana, I would lump the “walk” button in with point #3 about the elevator. I just don’t know why people think it actually does anything different…

      I’m glad your godson enjoyed Disney so early in life. He probably won’t remember that time as he gets older, but I’m sure it made for a much more enjoyable trip for his folks. :o)

      Thanks for visiting today.

      Reply

  2. Craig Smith
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 16:26:23

    Dana, I was going to add the crosswalk button pusher as well.
    I know the problem. They actually think that pushing the button changes the cycle of lights at the intersection. It doesn’t. The traffic lights will go through the same routine of left-turners, oncoming traffic, cross traffic etc. The only thing the button does is make the walk sign light up when it’s your TURN.

    Reply

  3. Craig Smith
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 16:30:40

    I also have another one.
    On sidewalks and grocery store aisles, keep to the right. The reason it’s to the right is because of us driving on the right side of the street. If we were in a country that drove on the left side of the street, stay to the left side of the sidewalk or aisle. If you do this, and the oncoming person or people do, guess what?… you pass each other without incident.
    If people aren’t paying attention, or don’t care, you get an impromptu dance partner.
    And heaven forbid, don’t walk in the middle and hog it all. Yes Target shoppers, I’m lookin’ at YOU!

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Aug 10, 2012 @ 16:39:06

      LMAO! Oh, don’t get me started on Target or Wal-Mart shoppers, Craig! 😉 I absolutely agree that the left/right side of the sidewalk issue gets to me, too, for the very reasons you listed. I’ve actually gotten so angry that I’ve stopped in my tracks, “forcing” the “offender” to go to the right side of the pavement. That doesn’t happen often, but it’s happened enough for me to mention it.

      Thanks for stopping by today.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
