Being Googy

I’ve refrained from talking too often of how much I love Craig, because I know that our googiness (or lovey-dovey-ness) can be a bit much for some people.  But today I feel justified in letting our googiness have free reign over the day, because WE JUST GOT MARRIED!

Yes, on Wednesday, July 4,  Craig and I finally made our union official in front of all our friends and family.  I’m so excited, because I had waited so long to find someone as wonderful as he, and it’s somewhat comical that our romance took so long to get to this point.  But we finally did it!

Since I’m writing this weeks before the wedding, I’ll blog next week about the ceremony and how lovely it all turned out.  But for now, I will post our vows to each other.

~~~Alyx to Craig~~~

It’s been said that the most important things are the hardest to say, because words diminish them.  So when I first set out to write my vows, I wasn’t sure that I’d be able to find a way to properly express what you mean to me.  How can I condense the enormity of my love for you into just a few words?  

I remember the moment when I knew my love for you was unlike anything I’d ever felt before.  It felt like everything in the Universe clicked and fell into place for me.  There was such a swelling of emotion in my heart that day that I was sure it would come spilling out of me.  My love for you now is even stronger, and I know it absolutely pours out of me. 

You’re my friend, my lover, my shoulder to cry on, and a kick in the pants when I need it.  You hold me when I need comforting.  You help me see the humor in circumstances.  You see my beauty, even when I don’t.  But most of all you have offered me a home in your heart where I feel safe and loved.

Every day with you has been better than the last, and I feel certain that they’ll get better still as we continue to grow together.  I’m so happy that I get to spend the rest of my life with you, Craig.  Thank you for the wonderful gift of your heart, and for being so deserving of mine.

~~~Craig to Alyx~~~

I vow to love you always. I will love you, as you deserve to be loved. I will stand by you when you need support and take care of you when you need help, even if you can’t ask for it. I promise always to be honest with you, and considerate of you. You accept and support me, just as I am supported and inspired by you. I vow to spend the rest of my life helping you to be happy.

People say that being in a relationship is hard work. But I’ve never been in one so effortless. I don’t have to try to be in love with you. I just am. Just as you accept me, I accept all that is ‘you’. The bad and the good. The past and the present. All that, has made you the woman you are today. The woman I love. I don’t ask that you change for me, only that we grow, together, toward our future.

I love you.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charity
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 07:07:19

    Thanks so much for including George and me on your special day! And for posting your vows – I was really touched when I heard you both express your love and intentions for your life together. So very genuine and so well said! You really have a talent for writing.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Jul 06, 2012 @ 07:57:57

      We’re so glad you could be there, Charity! And we just found the lovely Blessing you guys left for us. Very beautiful words, & such a lovely gift. We’ll be sure to share photos & the pie fight video soon. 🙂

      Reply

  2. kaye george
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 12:01:39

    Congratulations and much, much good fortune in your life together! My huggie and I have been together for 45 years now–it can be done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
