Alameda on Camera 2012

I’m so psyched!  I was accepted to be one of 48 artists in the Alameda On Camera exhibit at the Frank Bette Gallery again this year!

At first, I wasn’t sure if I’d have enough time to participate in the event, so I didn’t even enter any photos.  But a couple weeks before the deadline, I received an email from the gallery informing me that the deadline was approaching, and the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to submit myself for the contest. When I told Craig and Athena about it, they encouraged me to enter.  In fact, they both asked me why I even hesitated.

The gallery accepts only 48 artists from all the applicant submissions, and those selected attend an event where they draw a piece of the map of Alameda.  They then have 48 hours to take as many pictures as they want of the area they’ve drawn, and then they can turn those photos into any art form they want to.  Last year, someone actually made a Monopoly board out of different areas on the island.  Anything goes, so long as it includes images you photographed during the 48 hours, and there really are all sorts of interesting items to see.

At the map piece picking event, I actually wound up choosing the same area of Alameda that I’d gotten last year.  When that happens, the artist is allowed to choose a different piece of the map, but I wanted to keep mine.  The weather was slightly different this year, and I wanted to see what I might find.  And sure enough, my eye found different things to focus on this time.  Much of what I snapped were from the exact same areas as last year, but my mind was in a different place this year, as was the lighting.  So it made for some vastly different shots than those I took before.

I didn’t take as many photos this year as I did last, but somehow the pictures just spoke to me.  When it came time to choose which ones to print out for possible display, I found that I had five selections already done, one of which didn’t need to be altered or digitally enhanced at all.  I was in the midst of editing a couple more, but I really liked what was already ready and waiting to be printed.  Then came looking for frames and mat boards that would best display the shots.  I had conveniently forgotten about that part from last year, so Craig and I were running around like crazy trying to find the perfect frames, etc.

Our entries were due last weekend, and tonight is the gala opening of the exhibit, where prizes are awarded to the artists in different categories.  Naturally I’d love to win one of the prizes, but I’m just so happy that my photography was considered good enough to be a part of the exhibit again this year!  It’s easy to believe actors when they say “I’m just glad to be nominated,” because it truly is a wonderful feeling to know your peers consider your work “good enough.”  The exhibit will run for two months, so if you’re in the area, please stop on by and see all the wonderful items that our local artists have come up with.  As I said, it’s not just photos, so there’s something for everyone.

The photos you see in this blog are some of mine from last year’s show.  If you want to see the glorious pics I took this year, you’ll have to either come to the event (for those of you who live in the Bay area), or wait for this time next year after I see if I’ve been chosen a third year in a row.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janet Rudolph
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 08:41:36

    How fabulous. Congratulations.

    Reply

  2. Maddy
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 08:58:36

    You’re right, to be nominated must be phenomenal. Well done you. These days I’m reduced to a quick snap with my phone — if I’m lucky. I suspect real photography may be on the wane in the face of the ‘quick fix.’ Congratulations.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Apr 06, 2012 @ 09:21:46

      Thanks, Maddy. I’m sure it’s the same feeling that an author gets when an agent wants to sign them, or an editor likes the manuscript.

      As for real photography, I doubt it’s on the wane. While there probably aren’t many who still use film (I have a digital camera myself), this event will DEFINITELY prove that photographers still abound.

      Reply

  3. kaye george
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 12:29:52

    Wow, this is wonderful! Congrats!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
