Raindrops Are Falling on My Head

We’ve had a relatively dry winter this year in California . . . until recently.  It rained nearly nonstop for four days last week in an attempt to make up for the lack of rain over the last few months.  It hasn’t been the deluge that some countries get, but it’s rained enough that flights into or out of San Francisco were delayed for several hours last Wednesday night.

Many people out here in California dread the rain.  Sure, they concede that it’s necessary to keep crops healthy, and to avoid forest fires during the summer, but that doesn’t stop them from cursing whenever a shower falls from the clouds.

Photo by Elena Kalis

Me?  I love the rain.  I’m not such a fan of the bitterly cold rains out here that seep through your skin and sink deep into your bones, but I love the warm rains that we got back in the Midwest; especially in the spring and summer.  I actually never used to carry an umbrella with me when it rained – unless it was a deluge – just because I so thoroughly enjoyed them.

Out in the Midwest, the fat droplets of liquid clouds that fall are usually preceded by a nice thunderstorm, which I also love.  If the thunderstorm and shower happen at night, even better.  I used to love falling asleep to the sound of distant (or even not so distant) rumbling, followed by the ploop, ploop of the rain as it fell on the roof or windows.

Thunderstorms (or thunder in general) is something else that Californians don’t seem to care for.  Craig’s daughter, Athena, recently told me that she hates thunder, and has actually lain awake in her bed all night long hoping that the thunder wouldn’t get any closer.  I find that so interesting, because the few earthquakes that I’ve felt out here have quite similar sounds to the rumbling of thunder.  And personally I’d prefer a thunderstorm any day of the week, because with thunder I don’t feel the ground shake and threaten to open up beneath my feet.

But I digress.  I’m not here to discuss why I doubt I’ll ever get used to earthquakes, but why I love the rain . . .

After I’ve awoken from a very sound sleep – thanks to the soothing sounds of the shower outside – there are so many things to enjoy.  The air has a wonderfully clean and fresh fragrance to it, and I find myself taking larger than normal breaths just to fill my nostrils with the scent.  I even love the puddles that form from all the rain.  There have been many times when I’ve emulated Gene Kelly (sans umbrella and lamp post), and just gone splashing about in a puddle, uncaring how wet my feet will get in my shoes.  There’s something very childlike and happy about doing so.

I also enjoy driving through a huge puddle in a parking lot.  Of course, I make sure it’s either an empty parking lot, or that there aren’t any cars close by, but then I put the pedal to the metal and revel in making huge waves from speeding the car through a deep pool of water.  If it’s warm out, and your car can take it, I even recommend rolling down your windows and getting doused from your splash.  Craig told me that he once did something similar while riding his motorcycle.  I’d LOVE to try that, so I’ll make sure to ask him to take me along next time.

Another great thing about rainstorms is the drowsiness that seeps into your body; especially if you can stay snuggled up in bed, under the warm covers, and doze in and out of consciousness.  Some people are able to do that for several hours past their normal wake up time.  I only seem able to indulge in a few extra minutes of relaxing shut eye, but sometimes that’s all I need to feel energized and ready for my day.

How about you?  What do you like best about the rain?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 08:47:56

    I love love LOVE the rain. All of the reasons you mention are on my list and I really miss thunderstorms… I used to love visiting Michigan and being snuggled inside with hot chocolate while the thunder boomed and the rain poured down… sigh. Love the rain.

    Reply

  2. Alyx Morgan
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 09:21:03

    *Sigh* Yeah. I don’t miss much about Michigan, but I DO miss those thunderstorms.

    Thanks for stopping by today, Dana. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 11:03:18

    I like the rain, but really don’t like thunderstorms. It’s not the thunder so much, but the lightening that terrifies me. Probably from childhood stories about relatives being struck by lightening, and I do not the fear isn’t logical, but still when there’s lightening, I like to put my head under a pillow.

    Back to rain – I really like the soft spring rain. It is energizing to walk in the garden with the gentle rain nourishing everything. I like to plant in the rain; the new plants seem to grow better when rained in instead of being watered in. And rain almost always leads to thoughts of soup and bread. Can’t get better than that, unless it’s chocolate!

    Kathy

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 20:12:46

      Those are some great things to like about the rain, Kathy. I hadn’t thought about the soup & bread, but yes, I can see how a meal like that would be very satisfying on a rainy day. I’ll stop by your house the next time it rains. 🙂

      Thanks for visiting today.

      Reply

  4. Kaye George
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:52:03

    I love the clean smell after the rain. I loved thunderstorms growing up in Illinois. Here in Texas, they’re so frequent and disastrous, I don’t look forward to them at all.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 20:11:02

      I’ve heard stories about the devastating rains in Texas, so yeah, maybe I wouldn’t like those too much. But it does smell so nice & clean after a rainstorm, you’ve got that right. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Kaye.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
