Giving Thanks 2011

I’m going to make it an annual thing to discuss things I’m thankful for in my life.  The Secret talks about having an attitude of gratitude, and I really like that concept.  It’s something I strive to do every day . . . this is just a public rendering of my gratitude.

I’m thankful for my mom and dad.  Their love, wisdom and humor helped shape me into the woman I am today.  I don’t know that I thanked my dad often enough while he was alive, and I worry that I don’t thank my mom often enough either, but I am very grateful that they got together, had me and my brother, and taught us all that they could.

I’m thankful for my job, and not just during these tough economic times.  My day jobs have helped me live the life I want to, and enabled me to pay my bills while I prepare myself for the new life I want.  I’ve been able to travel around the world, meet incredible people and see amazing things . . . things I wouldn’t have been able to do, were it not for my day job.

I’m eternally grateful for Craig, and for the love we share.  I finally have the “happy ever after” romance I’ve always dreamed of, but from a mature and realistic sense.  He understands and gets me, and even thinks some of my idiosyncrasies are adorable (since they’re part and parcel of who I am).  I’m truly blessed that I get to wake up next to this man each and every day for the rest of my life.

A huge THANK YOU to my Sisters in Crime pals, and all my author friends, who have helped me on my path to becoming published.  I’ve learned so much from them; whether it’s by asking their advice on things, reading their books, or simply observing how they do things, and what’s worked/not worked for them.  I’m a stronger writer and person because of all of them.

I’m grateful for all my other friends; the ones who have offered me joyous times, and those to whom I could turn, were my life to disintegrate today.  Knowing that they’re for me, and that they’d help me out if need be is the foundation of my belief in myself.  I know I can do anything, because I’ve got them to shore me up.

I can’t leave out the wonders found in nature.  Each morning, I get to smell the wonderful autumn fragrance left by the fallen leaves and crisp morning air.  On my ride home, I’m in awe of the beautiful sunsets painted on the sky’s canvas.  I’m grateful for the wind and how it feels as it caresses my face, or plays with my hair.  Sometimes I love to just stand facing the wind, with my arms out wide and let it wash over me.  I feel so cleansed after a “wind bath”.

I’m grateful to live on an island that resembles the Midwestern landscape in so many ways.  The houses, the neighborhoods, the sense of quiet and calm . . . all of it speaks to me of a security and sense of “home” that I never knew I needed (and probably still don’t fully understand, to be honest).  I especially love living on this island at this time of year, because I get to see the wonderful fall colors, even here in  California.

And I’m especially grateful for all of you readers, without whom this blog would be nothing more than an electronic journal.  The fact that you come and visit my blog means so much to me.  Knowing that you’ll be reading these makes me want to improve my writing, and discuss topics that I feel might be enjoyable to you.  Whether you visit regularly, or just once in a while, thank you, from the bottom of my heart!

Let’s keep this good feeling going . . . please tell me what you’re thankful for.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 12:40:14

    Happy Thanksgiving, Alyx! You have a lot of lovely things to be thankful for and I love the fact that you shared them all with us!

    Reply

  2. Kaye George
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 10:33:05

    Hey, I’m thankful I finally have a few extra minutes to get around to reading this blog! I am thankful that I’m so busy with writing things, because this is what I always wanted to do. Our daughter, her husband, and our 14-month-old grandson were here for TG, and also our oldest son and his family. We missed the middle child, who was working, but we’ll see them in the spring. I’m VERY thankful for my family–they’re the best.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Dec 04, 2011 @ 18:35:51

      WooHoo! So much to be thankful for, Kaye! Congratulations on your writings, that’s awesome, & I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your family time.

      Thanks for stopping by & reading this, even a week later. It’s so nice to see you here. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
