Song Analysis – Fixing a Hole

The Beatles’ song Fixing a Hole came on my mp3 player recently.  It’s a kicky tune that has a message I’m able to understand, without the use of mind-bending drugs.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds, but can’t really relate to plasticine porters who wear looking-glass ties.

Anyway, unless you’re a very young person who hasn’t yet been introduced to the genius that is The Beatles – or, you’ve somehow been living under a rock – chances are you know the song.  I’ve no doubt John, Paul, George and Ringo were high when they recorded it, but it’s still a great song.  Musically, it flows in the same meandering tone that the words suggest.

The reason I bring up this song today is because of how my mind has been wandering from thought to thought.  I have tried several times to write today’s post.  Each and every time I find that my mind wanders off to something else, or that I get interrupted by something more pressing.

I’ve also noticed lately that my mind seems to be an even bigger jumble than in previous years.  No doubt some of that is because I’m working on getting three different careers off the ground, planning our wedding next year and other things that come up throughout life.  It’s gotten so bad that lately I’ve often found myself using the catchall words “thingy”, “stuff”, “whatchamacallit”, and “that place” rather than the actual nouns my brain is searching for, but can’t quite focus on.

This sort of phenomenon isn’t necessarily new for me; only the current magnitude of it.  Being a Gemini, I’m used to my brain hopping around from thought to thought.  Sometimes those jumps seem random, but they make perfect sense to me.  The show Friends had a great bit once where they used Phoebe to showcase it in such a sublime way.  I couldn’t find the clip on YouTube, but it’s from the sixth season, entitled “The One With the Ring”.  Here’s how the scene goes:

Chandler: [about the guy who bought the engagement ring Chandler had chosen] All right, where was he going?
Phoebe: Yeah, it’s a restaurant, it’s… the Rainbow something.
Chandler: Rainbow Room?
Phoebe: No.
Chandler: Rainbow Grill?
Phoebe: No.
Chandler: Somewhere over the…?
Phoebe: L’Espace.
Chandler: Rainbow L’Espace!
Phoebe: No, no. Just L’Espace.
Chandler: [thinking] I would love to know how you got from Rainbow to L’Espace.
Phoebe: No, you wouldn’t. [points to her head] You don’t want to get in here.

Sometimes, I’ve explained those seemingly random leaps to Craig, and when I’m finished, he can see the connection, but sometimes I find it best to just say “switching subjects” before I make the leap.  That gives whoever I’m talking to an opportunity to stop their train of thought before I continue.  I’m not always successful at giving them the warning though, which makes for some funny Phoebe-like moments.

“They” say that the average person has roughly 70,000 thoughts per day.  That’s about one thought every 3.4 seconds.  With those statistics, it’s safe to assume everyone’s brain runs like mine.  Maybe I just don’t have the filter that others do, which allows them to assimilate everything easier.

Anyway, with that said, I’ll leave you with the song and the wonderful lyrics:

I’m fixing a hole where the rain gets in
And stops my mind from wandering
Where it will go
I’m filling the cracks that ran through the door
And kept my mind from wandering
Where it will go
And it really doesn’t matter if I’m wrong
I’m right
Where I belong I’m right
Where I belong.
See the people standing there who disagree and never win
And wonder why they don’t get in my door.
I’m painting the room in a colourful way
And when my mind is wandering
There I will go.
And it really doesn’t matter if
I’m wrong I’m right
Where I belong I’m right
Where I belong.
Silly people run around they worry me
And never ask me why they don’t get past my door.
I’m taking the time for a number of things
That weren’t important yesterday
And I still go.
I’m fixing a hole where the rain gets in
And stops my mind from wandering
Where it will go.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dolly Chamberlin
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 18:28:46

    In all your business, remember to b r e a t h. :} LOVES

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
