Giving Life to Things

I’ve always been an emotional person; what some people would call “sappy”.  I’ve been known to cry at Hallmark commercials, and Mr. Armstrong’s “What a Wonderful World”?  Fuhgeddaboudit!  I could never sing that song at karaoke, I choke up so much.  Yeah I’m emotional, but I’m actually proud of that.  I’d rather cry at “the drop of a hat”, than see a touching scene and not feel anything inside.  I may be sappy, but only in the best possible sense.

I recently caught the last 20 minutes of Toy Story 3.  Even though I hadn’t been with the toys on their long, arduous journey, [SPOILER ALERT] the moment Andy started to give his toys to Bonnie, I cried.  Hell, I’m tearing up now just remembering it.

I love how PIXAR imagines the life that toys can have when humans aren’t around.  They’ve done the same thing with cars, plastic tchotchkes, and of course, desk lamps.  It’s like they’ve never lost the wild imagination they had when they were kids.  They realize that – just because these items have no apparent anima – doesn’t mean they don’t experience the same things we do.  The joys, the laughter, the family bickering and teasing.  Even the pain and sorrow.

The one that gets me every time is in Toy Story 2, where Jessie reminisces about her time with Emily.  When the song “When Somebody Loved Me” gets to the end, and Emily has outgrown Jessie, I bawl over how sad Jessie is.  Then I go grab Pinky, and tell her how I’ll love her forever.

Pinky sat waiting for me one Easter morning, next to my basket of goodies.  I walked in the door of my dad’s house, and went hunting for my Easter basket.  Behind the door to his bedroom I saw her.  She was a big mouse, with white floppy ears, and fur that was, you guessed it, pink.  My mom had her specially made for me that year, and hid her at my dad’s house.  As soon as I saw Pinky, I squealed with delight, and we’ve been inseparable ever since.

I slept with her every night until well into my teen years.  She’s been with me through every heart break, and caught my tears.  She helped me fall asleep on thousands of occasions.  She was with me when my tonsils got out, and even went with me when I traveled to Prague.  I’ve had many stuffed animals throughout my life – was even a “collector” of them at one point – but Pinky has outlasted them all.  She sits proudly on a shelf in my bedroom to this day.

She’s not as pristine as she once was; her fur is all matted, and most of her felt nose and mouth are rubbed entirely off.  But in my eyes she’s still as beautiful as that Easter morning when I found her.  And you can’t tell me she’s not alive.  I still feel the bond between us whenever I pick her up.  There’s a definite energy that flows from her to me.

I don’t know what kind of secret life she has when I can’t see her, but she’ll never have to worry that I’ll leave her at the side of the road, or that I’ll sell her in a yard sale.  She’s too special for that.  Just like Andy’s toys.

Craig and I laugh with delight when we hear his daughter, Athena, playing with her dolls in much the same way that Andy or Bonnie does in the Toy Story movies.  She makes up stories for them, complete with dialogue and drama.  When Athena’s not with us, her toys sit there, waiting for her to come back and play with them, but I’m sure they have their own adventures in between too.

I hope there will be at least one or two that she never outgrows.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana Fredsti
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 13:00:10

    Toy Story destroyed my sense of complacency that toys were only toys. I already have a very bad habit of anthropomorphizing things… that damn movie made it SOOO much worse. I still have my favorite childhood stuffed animals: Lambie Pie and Miss Poppy, plus a little moth-eaten stuffed kitten and a squeaky horse. The ones I didn’t give away and couldn’t keep (peed on by cats, for instance) were offered to a bonfire with ceremony and love. My old collectible toys were passed on to those who would appreciate them. Yes, that commercial about the abandoned lamp with the tagline: It’s only a lamp” was made for me…

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Aug 05, 2011 @ 13:07:27

      LOL I think it’s wonderful that you have so many left. And what a nice send off for those you said goodbye to. I know Pinky will be joining me when I’m cremated

      Thanks for stopping by, as always, Dana. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Elaine Davis
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 04:35:03

    Whenever I anthropomorphize objects, I think of Stephen King’s Christine, which stops me dead in the process. If and when I cast human traits, I look to other animals, one of the reasons I love cartoons, Tigger, Baloo, Yogi and Boo Boo, etc. It’s interesting when an author uses objects as props in fiction.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Aug 06, 2011 @ 07:41:20

      Yeah. I suppose inanimate objects can have evil personalities just as easily as they can nice ones, but I’m with you, Elaine. I prefer the nice, cuddly ones.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
