Shaking Things Up

You ever feel like you want to scream because you have so many things on your plate that you have to put your dreams on hold for a little while longer?

I know, I know.  I’ve mentioned how busy I’ve been several times over the last few months.  First there was the accident, then the wedding to plan, then the photography exhibit, then the possible job loss (which has been resolved very nicely; thanks for all the good vibes!).  Well, now I’ve got one more thing going on in my life . . . moving!

Moving is something I’m very used to.  By the time I was 36 years old, I had lived in four states, two countries, eleven cities and 36 dwellings.  Yes, I averaged one move a year by the time I was 36.  To think of it now is exhausting, but at the time it was just something I’d grown used to.  As a kid I had dreamed of traveling the world, and living in all sorts of cool places, so it was also kind of cool.  Over the last few years, however, I’ve found myself wanting more stability in my life.

When I was younger, it wasn’t so bad to move around a lot.  Everything I owned could fit in boxes in the back of my hatchback, so the only real trouble that moving back and forth between Michigan and Florida caused was the mileage on my car and my lack of sleep (I preferred to drive it in one 21-hour stretch).  But now, I’ve got so much (to use George Carlin’s phrase) “stuff” – not to mention Craig’s “stuff” and our combined “stuff” – that moving is now an all-weekend, exhausting gig, if we were to do it ourselves.

Still, the gypsy in me needs to shake things up every once in a while.  I’m better about it than I used to be, but I remember my first apartment in Chicago.  When I was nearing the one-year mark of living there, and I knew I’d be renewing the lease, I actually felt myself freak out a little.  I’d grown so used to moving, that I felt somewhat claustrophobic and trapped.  I pushed through that, and simply rearranged my furniture.  That was different enough that it helped me feel like things were “new” again.

Craig is the complete opposite of me, in terms of a vagabond lifestyle.  He lived in only two houses in his childhood, and really likes the comfort and stability of living in one place for years.

When Craig and I originally decided to move in together, we wanted to find something that was large enough to accommodate all our respective stuff, but we also needed to make sure it was still on Alameda.  I had moved to California specifically to live in Alameda, and don’t want to live in any other city out here.  We also needed to make sure that we could afford it.  We found a place that seemed to fit all of those, and, while I’d heard and read a few bad things about the place, their spiel was very convincing.  We’ve lived there now for a year and a half, and can’t wait until we’re in our new place by the end of this month.

Honestly, the apartment itself isn’t bad.  It’s a tad small for what we need, but we could always get a storage unit.  The bigger problem is the management company and what appears to be a lack of concern on their part for the residents.  I won’t go into detail here, but suffice it to say that there are many little complaints that make for a very uncool living situation, when combined together.

Anyway, so we’ve been looking for a new place to live for the last couple of weeks.  We’ve finally found one, and now it’s the packing, hiring movers and switching all utilities that’s taking up my time.

Our new place is smaller than what we’re leaving (2 bedrooms instead of 3), but the neighborhood seems nicer, it’s on a much quieter street, and we can always use my mom’s storage space for anything we don’t absolutely need in the house.  We’re both hoping that we’ll like our new place well enough that we won’t want to move for at least the next 3-5 years.

Hopefully, once the move is complete, I’ll be able to devote time to my writing again.  I’m sure there are many people out there who put up with more than I do, and still find time to write, and I’ve got a tremendous amount of respect and reverence for you.  I just know that, if I’d known even half of the things that would’ve come up this year, I don’t think I would’ve made as many New Year’s resolutions as I did.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana Fredsti
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:38:08

    Moving is a pain in the butt but sometimes can definitely be the best thing. Other friends of ours recently moved from an apartment with management issues to a new place a few blocks away and even though the move itself was stressful, they are SO much happier! I’ll wager you get even more writing done when you’re settled into the new digs!

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:42:16

      From your mouth, Dana… Yes, I’m positive that the move will be a great thing. I guess I’m just feeling major guilt over my MS sitting dormant for the last few months. I was so good about writing one page a day at the beginning of year… :o( Ah well…maybe things just need to stew in my head a little longer.

      Reply

  2. Elaine Davis
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 04:27:58

    Keeping track of all the details, where your stuff is and where to put it all, is always my problem in moving. I like places that have similar functional features so that I can go from one place to the next and easily find a place for all my stuff. Luckily, I haven’t had to move in a long time. Trying to write while moving would be nearly impossible. Good luck, Alyx!

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Jun 19, 2011 @ 19:20:28

      Thanks, Elaine! Yes, I’m finding that thinking about anything else while moving is practically impossible…even the wedding planning has taken a very back seat. But, I’m feeling very anxious to get back in the writing saddle, so I’m sure I’ll be typing along merrily in no time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
