Secret Inspiration

A few weeks back, I wrote about organizational changes at my day job.  At the time, I wasn’t sure what was happening with my position, but I found out last week that I needed to find something else.

My boss fought the good fight to keep me.  He still tells me often just how great a job I’m doing there, and how everyone on his team loves working with me.  Even the Admin who will be replacing me has fought hard to keep me on at the company, and even in my current role (she’s been trying to find something elsewhere in the company, so I would be able to stay).  Alas, it doesn’t seem to be in the cards that I’ll be sticking around past June 3.

I’d kept my spirits pretty high the first few weeks of uncertainty, but when the gavel finally fell, and I was told all the fighting was for naught, I started worrying and fell into a funk.  It had taken me a couple months to get placed at this job, and I actually had to be on unemployment until it came through; an event that was a real blow to my pride.  So, I too had experienced the hardships that have run rampant in this current economy, and those thoughts, memories and fears all combined to alter my normally-positive outlook.

It was bound to happen, really.  I believe in the yin and yang in life, so I know that I occasionally have to feel the sorrow, anger, and other “bad” feelings in order to balance out my sunny disposition.  Last week was one of those times.  I came home one night in a really bad funk, and Craig – wonderful partner that he is – allowed me the time and space to “wallow” in that funk.  He didn’t try to cheer me up, he didn’t try to “fix” me or the situation.  He simply held me, commiserated with me, and then let me work through the stuff going on in my head.  The other thing he did was suggest that we start watching The Secret again.

For those of you who haven’t heard of it, The Secret is a wonderful book/DVD/audiobook that talks about the power we all have within us.  The power to transform our lives into what we want.  I’ve watched the DVD a couple of times already, but it had been months since I’d last seen it.  So, when Craig suggested we start watching it again, I thought “YES!  That’s what I need to do.”

I realized that I had begun to think about things in a way that wouldn’t be very helpful.  I’d begun to worry about things, and focus my energy on what I was afraid would happen, or on what I didn’t want to happen.  I had forgotten to turn that thinking around and focus on what I DID want.  I had forgotten to visualize the life I want to live.  I’d been so wrapped up in the numerous things going on in my life, that my internal auto pilot mechanism had taken over, and I was basically existing.

So, taking Craig’s suggestion, we watched the first two chapters of The Secret the next morning, and the rest of that day, I felt much better about my prospects.  I took the lessons they suggested and applied them to my daily life.  I offered up gratitude for what was currently wonderful in my life, and began to visualize that things were already what I wanted them to be.  I applied to a bunch of jobs I found online, and even felt that something would come about in my current company.  A couple days later, we watched the next two chapters.  My good feelings and positive outlook continued, and I felt certain something would show up very soon.

Then, just a couple days ago, I got a call from someone in the HR department of the company where I currently work.  There’s another temp assignment here that might turn permanent after 3-4 months.  They’ve set me up for an interview with the head of that area for next Wednesday.  My current boss has told me that this potential new boss is a great guy.  So, what seemed gloomy and without hope a week ago, now seems like an even better prospect than what I currently am in.

My heartfelt thanks to The Secret, and everyone involved in it for the wonderfully encouraging words, lessons and stories.  And my deepest gratitude to my love Craig, for gently reminding me of something I’d hidden away on a shelf . . . the power within me to turn my life around.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana
    May 27, 2011 @ 10:20:59

    I have got my fingers crossed for you and I applaud (with crossed fingers, of course!) your attitude. And yay, Craig, for being such a wonderful, supportive and helpful partner!

    Reply

  2. Bette Golden Lamb
    May 27, 2011 @ 10:40:25

    Alyx:
    Keep that great attitude riding high. It really does work. I’m kind of going through a rough patch myself and your blog is an inspiration.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      May 27, 2011 @ 10:56:30

      Thank you, Bette. I’m glad it touched you. 🙂

      To keep the positive energy flowing, I’m sending some your way. Here’s to hoping things turn out well for you too!

      Reply

  3. Maddy
    May 27, 2011 @ 11:27:21

    I certainly think that the power of positive thinking is severely under-rated, but at the same time we all become overwhelmed sometimes.

    Job insecurity is about the most stressful thing around, so glad Craig was there to help you through.

    Quite often I find that a dose of ‘news’ on the radio, helps put my own woes into perspective. Just hearing about the tornadoes and the dreadful circumstances other people have to face is enough to make me count my blessings.

    I think I’ll check out that ‘secret’ too.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      May 27, 2011 @ 11:35:43

      I agree that mine are not the biggest problems in the world, & I definitely do keep it in perspective. In no way did I mean to belittle anyone who’s had to endure years of unemployment & the toll that takes on your self-esteem or pride. It’s more like when people say something “hits home” when it’s staring you in the face. If anything, I think it helps me to have more compassion for my fellow humans who are suffering during these hard times.

      I highly recommend The Secret though. I know to some it appears like mumbo-jumbo, but I’ve seen the true power of it in my life, so it works for me. Hopefully you’ll find something useful out of it as well.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Laura H.
    May 27, 2011 @ 14:17:07

    Hang on tight, the “up” is sure to come. Eventually! Worry doesn’t really “prepare” you for anything but a stomach ache, so who needs it, right?!

    LOVE

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      May 27, 2011 @ 15:01:04

      You’re so right, Laura. Worrying is so counterproductive, but we all get sucked in from time to time. Hopefully we don’t let it stick around for too long though.

      Thanks for the wonderful thoughts, & the love…that’s so nice! 😀

      Reply

  5. Kaye George
    May 28, 2011 @ 06:52:22

    Craig sounds like a keeper! I’m so glad the job situation got turned around. I used to do contract programming and, in between every contract, I got into that place where I was afraid I wouldn’t find another one. Well, it did finally happen, but I landed in a good place anyway. I hope this works out really well for you!

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      May 28, 2011 @ 07:34:23

      I’m glad you landed in a good place, Kaye.

      I have every reason to believe it will work out very well. & yes, Craig is definitely a keeper. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  6. Nancy Adams
    May 28, 2011 @ 12:20:50

    So glad things are looking up for you, Alyx! Craig sounds like a great guy.

    Best of luck with the interview.

    Nancy A.

    Reply

  7. Craig
    May 30, 2011 @ 07:34:43

    Thank you my darling, you’re the one that introduced me to the Secret in the first place. Let me take a moment to tell the folks what happened with me, as well.
    I have been looking for an animation or game art position since graduating from school at the end of 2007, with no luck, no interviews, no anything. After re-watching the Secret, I finally was able to put into practice the type of job searching and networking that I knew in the back of my mind would be effective, but could never manage to manage. Well, I arranged a simple lunch with a great friend of mine, Emma, who’s in the industry and just went to talk with her and re-connect. She ended up giving me a wealth of information and introducing me to two people right off the bat that are high-up within game companies. One of them is giving me a try-out type of test. This is further than I have previously gotten in the interview processes in years. Thanks to Emma, the Secret and Alyx. Now, I’m visualizing having gotten the position and traveling to my new and wonderful job.
    Wish me luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
