New Year’s Resolutions

Tonight is the night when the world celebrates another birthday.  There will be much partying, drinking, dancing, and other forms of general merriment.  Tomorrow morning is when most people begin to carry out whatever New Year’s resolutions they’ve assigned themselves.

I used to make a list of things I vowed to do or not do in the new year.  Somewhere along the way, I stopped making those resolutions.  I had decided that, if I truly was going to do something, I should start it here and now, rather than wait for the beginning of the year.

I’d gone that way for several years, until recently.  Last January, my boyfriend, Craig, vowed that he wouldn’t drink pop (soda to you non-midwesterners) for the entire year of 2010.  To give you an idea of how difficult this was for him, this man used to drink at least two Cokes a day.  If he had to stay up all night, working on a project for his job, he’d often go through five or more.  It wasn’t hard for him to empty a twelve pack in a week’s time, if not sooner.  He doesn’t drink tea (hot or cold), or coffee, and he included any carbonated beverage in his “off-limits” list, so he’s been left with nothing but water and juices for an entire year.  Well, he’s had beer and wine too, but he doesn’t drink those all that often.

Now, I stopped drinking pop back when I was seventeen, and have grown used to drinking mostly water . . . in fact, I LOVE the taste of water.  But this was a new thing for him.  There have been many times over the year when he’s cried out how many months/weeks/days are left before he can once again sip his favorite beverage.  There have also been the mock longing looks at the soda station whenever we ate at a fast food restaurant, but he hasn’t caved.  Not once.

His strength and determination have been quite an inspiration to me over the year.  It has helped me to see that changing an old habit into a new one doesn’t have to be terribly stressful.  What’s more, it’s prompted me to come up with my own set of resolutions for 2011.

For the year 2011, I, Alyx Morgan, will:

  1. Continue to write at least one page a day.
  2. Once again limit my video game playing to weekends only.
  3. Do some form of exercise every day for at least 30 minutes.
  4. Eat healthier, and lose at least 20 pounds this year.
  5. Limit my dairy intake to once a week (I haven’t been labeled “lactose intolerant”, but it doesn’t agree with me if I eat it too often)

Some of those will be easily implemented, while others might prove a challenge for me.  But, having watched Craig persevere – and the fact that I’ve succeeded at a couple of these originally set as smaller goals – I’m quite confident that I can achieve this.

I have had a couple people worry that these are “ambitious” goals, and have offered modifications for a couple of them.  While I know they mean well, and really want me to succeed at these (which they think will be more possible with said adjustments), to call them ambitious conjures up thoughts of possible failure.  So, I’m going to stick with my original list and trust that I’ll be able to make them work.

There is the possibility that I won’t succeed at any one of these – when venturing on any journey, “failure” is always a possibility and should be accepted as such.  But, as is often said in my Weight Watchers meeting – There is no failure, only feedback.

So, for those of you who are making resolutions for 2011,  I wish you much success.

May we all enjoy a safe and Happy New Year!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 10:23:07

    Hi Alyx,
    All are very admirable goals indeed but I especially like “write one page a day”. It sounds so simple and so doable that I’m adopting it myself.
    Thanks!
    Karen
    ps I went off caffeine for a month a few years back and the day I had my first ice tea I found out just how much ‘energy’ caffeine can give you. My house has never been so clean before or since. So please warn Craig to be very careful when/if he goes back to drinking coke!

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Dec 31, 2010 @ 11:45:12

      Yeah. I had a sip of soda a year or two after I’d sworn off pop & my stomach ached for hours. I’m actually predicting that he won’t like the taste anymore after a year, but we’ll see in a few short hours. 🙂

      Glad to hear the one page a day could work for you! I often find that I write more than one, but if that’s all I do that day, I still succeeded!

      Thanks for stopping by, & Happy New Year!

      Reply

  2. Dana
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 13:10:14

    I think your goals are quite realistic and doable! They kind of go together and support the other goals, so here’s to your success!!

    Reply

  3. Kaye George
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 15:07:51

    Kudos to Craig for going an entire year without pop! (I’m from Illinois originally.) And to you, too, for putting yourself out there. Now, the trick is to find these at the end of 2011 and report on your success. You can’t meet goals unless you set them, I say.

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Dec 31, 2010 @ 16:19:14

      Nicely said, Kaye! And the good thing about this blog, is that I can look back on all my old posts, so I think I will be able to pull these out next year, so I can report.

      I lived in Chicago for ten years, so we’ll give a shout out to Illinois!

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
