Support

While thinking about this week’s subject, a song ran through my head:

“If just one person believes in you,
deep enough & strong enough, believes in you
hard enough & long enough…it stands to reason
you yourself will start to see what everybody sees in you
& maybe even you…can believe in you too.”

First off, I want to give a huge THANK YOU to Jim Henson for those words.  I grew up on Jim’s Muppets.  From Sesame Street to The Muppet Show to Fraggle Rock, Jim’s extended family had a huge hand in raising me & teaching me things about life, friendship, & myself.  This particular song was sung by all the Muppets during the televised tribute to Jim Henson after his death in 1990.  It was toward the end of the program & Fozzie had become convinced that the silly tribute they’d planned throughout the show wouldn’t be enough to honor such a man.  It was Kermit’s nephew Robin (one of my faves) who began singing the song & eventually every single Muppet joined in, showing their support for Fozzie’s choices.  I recorded the program & watch it every now & then when I need a good cry (I’m getting choked up now, just describing it), but also when I need to be reminded that there are people who believe in me & support me.  If you want to see the clip, it’s on YouTube.

When I was younger, my mom was my main supporter.  Whatever I wanted to do, she celebrated my joys & joined in my sorrows.  For the longest time, I used to think she had to support me, because she was my mother.  I’d never met or even heard of mothers who didn’t tell their daughters how smart or talented or pretty they were.  So unfortunately, I oftentimes brushed her kind words off like they were nothing more than lip service.  Thankfully, I’ve since learned that she wasn’t just blowing smoke up my skirt.  She really was (& still is) so proud of me that she often says she never wears buttons because they’d pop off from her bursting pride.

My boyfriend, Craig, has now joined the cheerleading squad for Team Alyx.  Craig supports my decisions & asks about my writing progress, & even gently prods me when I need to sit my butt in the chair & do something relating to my career.  He’s also quick to help me figure out ways to squeeze some much needed rest into my busy schedule.

I could go on & on about how wonderfully supportive these two people are for me, but support comes in many different forms & I want to give a shout out to the other advocates in my life.  People who–while I might not talk with them as often as my mom or Craig–stand behind me in whatever way they can.  I’ve got friends who think I’m kooky (in a fun way of course), & enjoy the heck out of hearing about my exploits.  Still other friends whom I only see once every few years, but who welcome me with open arms whenever we’re able to get together.  And then there are the co-workers, or people in my writing groups & Weight Watchers who cheer me on in their own special ways.  When I sit down & think about it, I realize how incredibly blessed I am to have every single one of these people in my life.

Going back to the words of Mr. Henson (has he been dead long enough that we can saint him yet?), one person believing in you & your abilities is really all it takes to get the ball rolling.  If you can find at least one person in your life who truly supports you, there ain’t nothing you can’t do (yes, I intended the double negative).  If you can find more than one, even better.  Hopefully along the way you’ll start to believe what those who love you have been saying all along . . . that you ROCK!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maddy
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 07:05:21

    What an interesting perspective. I love that you have so much support, but I imagine there’s quite a few people [writers] who aren’t so similarly situated, tho’ that’s why we join writers groups.

    Reply

  2. Alyx Morgan
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 08:35:03

    Exactly, Maddy. I’ve seen so much support on the SinC & Guppies lists…it’s wonderful.

    Reply

  3. Kilt Kilpatrick
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 08:35:15

    Can just share some more Alyx love here? You have been a FANTASTIC addition to Sisters in Crime and we’re so delighted to have you on board! You do, indeed, ROCK!
    And btw, I would vote Jim Henson for sainthood way before Mother Theresa… = )
    -Kilt Kilpatrick
    (a.k.a. your SinC Event coordinator)

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Nov 05, 2010 @ 11:43:58

      Thank you so much, Kilt! What a nice thing to say. 🙂

      As for sainting Jim…WooHoo! One more on the petition, which leaves us only how many more million to go? 😉

      I’m so glad you stopped by today

      Reply

  4. Dana
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 08:46:43

    I have been incredibly luck in my life in terms of support for my creative endeavors: my mom, my sister, my stepdad, my boyfriend, other writer friends… and it does make things bearable when nothing seems to be going right or my self-esteem is in the toilet waiting to be flushed down. And writers groups… a good one is invaluable! I like the muppet song. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Nancy
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 09:02:26

    What a sweet blog post, Alyx! My little sister grew up with the Muppets and later I watched their Saturday evening show with my hubby. Both sis and hubby are wonderful supporters. And of course all my wonderful fellow Sisters in Crime.

    Thanks for posting this Thanksgiving. Very appropriate for the month.

    Nancy

    Reply

    • Alyx Morgan
      Nov 05, 2010 @ 09:25:56

      I didn’t even intend the correlation when I decided to post this blog, but maybe the spirit of the season permeated my psyche. How cool.

      Thanks for stopping by, Nancy!

      Reply

  6. Alyx Morgan
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 09:22:35

    I’m so glad to hear you have such a great support group, Dana! Glad you enjoyed the song, & thank you for stopping by. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Blog Catalog

Philosophy Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
